We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but very clean and friendly”

Clare Ellen Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clare Ellen Guest House
Ranked #25 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Only 1 night stay with wife and son and daughter-in-law, we usually stay in the Millers Arms, but they were booked full months ago.
The Clare Ellen B&B is a nice 10 mins walk to the center of Canterbury. The rooms are a decent size ,we had the twin room on the top floor, the furniture is quite old but decent. The shower/toilet is very small, shower inside and dry yourself in the room.The other two had a double room with a larger bathroom.
All necessary equipment was there, TV (small) , fridge with 10 cups of milk , watercooker and coffee tea etc. The breakfast was very good. You can park your car at the back of the B&B.
The owner is very friendly with tips where to eat (the Kings Head Pub , just round the corner), the cheapest Supermarkets and Petrol stations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed for two nights and though they didn't have a single, I was given a double for probably slightly lower than their going rate, which was comparable to every other place I stayed. The room was airy, with a writing desk, chair, tea service, hair dryer (check all the drawers) and a good sized shower.

I only ate breakfast one day but it was ample with ham, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, toast, potatoes, typical European breakfast and you could ask for what you wanted. It wasn't quite the six minute walk that I was told, to town, but it wasn't more than 15 minutes to the center. There is some noise from traffic in the morning (front room) but I didn't find a place anywhere where this wasn't true. These buildings are old and not that well insulated. If noise bothers you, bring earplugs.

When there was a problem with the internet service for the area the owner let me use his other computer so I could book the next part of my trip. Like all old buildings in this part of Europe, expect to go up some stairs though there weren't that many. I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanzanell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A fair bed & breakfast for your stay in Canterbury.
A 10/15 min walk into Canterbury centre ( not to far )
A handy but small carpark at rear of acccomadation.
A good size double room with the bonus of a fridge. Minor details in room were 2 bedside lights over the bed were badly placed as you sat up head caught on them.
Small television with only the 5 basic channels.
Shower was very good , but soap dispencer needed a change as black mould in the middle as were some of the sealants on the shower floor.
Bed very hard.
Toast at breakfast not toasted ? warm bread, please ask for well done.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank henlowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses, but the welcome and friendly atmosphere, at the Clare Ellen was by far the best.Thank you for the lovely stay and the great breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Our double bedroom was very cramped and shabby. A pipe in the bathroom was covered in black mould! Awful scratched wooden surround around handbasin in the bathroom. Bedroom needs a total refurbishment! Breakfast service left a lot to be desired too. Highly disappointing and amazed at the good reviews on your website!! Only good thing about the house was it was only about a 15 minute walk into centre of Canterbury, but nothing else that I would recommend!!!! Owner and family and staff friendly enough but it didn't compensate for the downside of staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank knowlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 km away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
1.1 km away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
304 reviews
0.5 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
742 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare Ellen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Ellen Guest House

Address: 9 Victoria Road, Canterbury CT1 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: ₹ 2,576 - ₹ 7,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Clare Ellen Guest House Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing