We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy comfy cute cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence River Stour close by the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence
River Stour close by the cottage
Conservatory
Patio Area
Lounge
Inglenook
Conservatory and Formal Dining Table
Farmhouse Kitchen - Dining Area
Farmhouse Kitchen - Storage
Farmhouse Kitchen - Range
Lounge
Staircase
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi in Main Bathroom [Ground Floor]
Downstairs shower room
If only the trains stopped here...!
Cottage makes a great winter retreat
River in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
melharb
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cosy comfy cute cottage”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage with great facilities in a gorgeous location.
Effective heating and very comfy bed. Lovely and quiet.
Ate at Dog & Duck pub both nights which is next door and
very friendly with large portions of good pub food, and very
reasonably priced.
Would love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of blinds or curtains in kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2013
Thank you and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metalco
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of serenity”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location and the facilities offered were second to none.
"Olde Worlde" charm with all the Modcons for a more familiar feel.
This is an optimum base for exploring the Thanet area.
The owners were more than helpful with regard to the local area and in the guide to the cottage there is useful information about shopping and bus timetables.
This is a place to unwind and just rest, away from the jet-stream of modern life.
We will be returning here without a doubt, it is a hidden gem and fully recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and solitude
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
thank you for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you again soon, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonL...
london
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect..A Magical Cottage”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We were a bit nervous booking this cottage as there were no reviews on tripadvisor but I can tell you no need to worry.This ia a lovely cottage which is in an idealic setting the river is at the front of the house and a lovely garden to the rear.We arrived a little late and the keys were in the pub across the road and a lovely bottle f Cava and choclates in the fridge along a selecton of groceries which was so thoughful.The bedrooms are a good size and a loo upstairs along with sky TV which was handy as it rained on our first day.It is a great base for the area we went to Whitstable and Sandwich which all make a lovely day/afternoon out and there are several pubs in the area for a lazy lunch.
We only went to the Dog and Duck pub one evening but were made really welcome and all in all we had a fabulous time and we will certainly be returning to this cottage.The owner was so helpful and a complete guide to the cottage was in the kitchen on arrival I can't find anything negative to say about this special place just try it you'll be totally recharged in days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting and the overall feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie D
Chauvigny, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. As we do require a deposit we try to ensure that our cleaner sees our guests at checkout to resolve any issues. I'm sorry if you felt pressurised to leave earlier than 1030 that was not our intention
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Danke für Ihre Rückmeldung. Wir hoffen jedoch, dass sie bei Ihrer Reiseplanung weiterhilft. Mike und Celia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 126
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing