We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy accomodation for your stay in Canterbury”
Review of Kipps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kipps
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cantù, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cozy accomodation for your stay in Canterbury”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Doubtless, so far the Kipps Hostel is the best hostel I've never been to. The rooms are really comfortable and clean. The kitchen is well equipped and clean as well. The "night events" organised by the hostel are usually well-organised and enjoyable. The staff is kind, helpful and ready to deal with any particular request.
I had my laptop with me, so I found it really nice that in all the hostel there's free wi-fi access.
So, if you're going to stay in Canterbury I highly recommend the Kipps Hostel as your accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuvola92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    44
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
32
68
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at the Kipps one night in June with our little child. We booked a room with 4 beds no ensuite not to disturb others hosts (the baby sometimes awake during the night). When we arrived, they realised ther were only three of us and gave a complimentary breakfast the morning after. We've been accomodated - since ther where no many hosts that night, in a room with 6 beds ensuite. We have also been able to have our cloths washed and dryed. Very near to the center of Canterbury, outside there are some car spaces along the street. It was Sunday so we didn't pay for the night and until 12a.m. on Monday. To strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bs As
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I generally stay at hostels when I travel around the UK and I highly recommend the KIPPS HOSTEL, not only for it`s fees, but the atmosphere, good staff, ,location , clean and tidy house as well.
I would have liked to stay longer.I highly recommend it .The staff is very helpful.




Lily

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Staying here was a great experience, I loved the hostel. The staff was really friendly and helpful, we had full access to the kitchen, and the breakfast area has a great view of their garden. There's free internet (you can use their computer), the atmosphere here is just lovely. The room itself was spacious with our own lockers inside, clean ensuite with a nice shower. We payed 17 pounds a night, wich was a great price for this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopasopasopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York State
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I took a group of American college students on an overnight trip to Canterbury and we all stayed at Kipps (32 people, including three small children). The staff were very helpful and friendly. The students were pleased with their rooms (the large bunk room at the top of the house was particularly charming) and we arranged for the hostel to provide our evening meal (which they did, and it was excellent). They are having some minor electrical problems which mean that the wall outlets aren't working in at least one room--but this was a very minor inconvenience. My only wish is that we had the option of paying a little more for a more substantial breakfast. The breakfast was adequate, but a little less than a group of hungry college students might have wanted. I'll see if they'll could arrange for more the next time we visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.9 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.9 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipps? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipps

Property: Kipps
Address: 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury CT1 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Canterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,347 - ₹ 5,053
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kipps Canterbury, a Friendly Backpackers Hostel in Canterbury, Kent We are situated in a quiet residential area around 10 minutes- walk to the famous Canterbury Cathedral, Historic Town and Canterbury’s other main attractions. Set in a beautiful 130 year old town house, we offer a wide range of budget accommodation from dormitory rooms to single and double/twin rooms, - suitable for both groups and individuals. Our Friendly staff will welcome you to our award winning backpackers, including a Rose Award for recognition to services from Visit England Tourist Board and No.1 Rated on Trip Advisor. We offer excellent facilities at Kipps Canterbury, including :- A large fully equipped kitchen Free Fibre Wi-Fi throughout the hostel Large Countryside garden, with Pool Table/BBQs (Summertime) Large lounge with Digital TV/ PC/ Vending Machines/ Xbox and Wii Large Dining area situated in our conservatory with views of the garden. Buffet Continental Breakfast. Fully heated and hot water 24/7 Laundry and drying facilities (Chargeable) Free left luggage facility Dormitories – En-suite/ Free Lockers/ Towels & Bedding Private Rooms – Tea & Coffee Facilities/ Digital TV/ Towels/ Desk and Wash Basin. Kipps Canterbury is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Canterbury East Train Station and the Main Bus station. Kipps Canterbury is an ideal base to explore the Kent Countryside known as the 'Garden of England'. Seaside resorts of Whitstable and Herne Bay are within easy cycling distance and for the more adventurous by foot.. A Short bus/ train ride will also take you to attractions like Dover Castle, Leeds Castle and to the Kent Coast We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful backpackers and to our Historic City Please read hostel conditions. Photo ID is required on Check in (inc UK/EUCitizens) OPENING HOURS Check in Time: 2pm-Midnight. Please let us know if you are arriving after 2pm KITCHEN – Our Self Catering Kitchen is open daily from 08:00am-10:00am/ 02:00pm-10:00pm. At other times the kitchen is closed to allow us to carry out general cleaning and maintenance Dormitory Rooms – Rooms are closed daily from 11am-2pm, to allow us to carry out daily housekeeping and maintenance. The Lounge is open for you to relax in during these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Kipps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipps Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing