We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Iffin Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iffin Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My family (2 adults, 3 children) stayed for a night in October during a short visit in Canterbury. The farm is beautiful, well kept, and the rooms are nice. The family room we stayed in was well made up and clean. We could hear some noises from the rooms next door but it was not bothersome. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious (many choices, fruit, cereal, creamy yogurt, full English breakfast as well if you want it. The value for money was not terrific, we paid 150 pounds for 5 people sharing 1 room (would have been nice to have a discount for the children). Overall a nice experience. Great location close to Canterbury, lovely city. Nice to share the long breakfast table w/ other guests, we enjoyed this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iffinhouse, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for your review - like yourselves most of our guests appreciate our high standards of cleanliness, great locally produced food served in a family atmosphere and good location (especially the space in the garden for children to play football etc).

Like many accommodation providers we have seasonal variations in our prices and for more than one nights stay. As indicated on our website we do charge less for children - only £25 each per extra child for bed and breakfast. I note therefore I gave a further 10% discount for your family stay even though you visited us in our high season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I needed somewhere to stay close to Dover as we had booked an early channel crossing the following day. We arrived at Iffin Farm very late in the evening but a member of staff waited up for us to show us to our room. We had a double room with ensuite which looked out onto the garden. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet. The owner prepared a fully cooked breakfast for us at 6.30 in the morning! The food was excellent and all locally produced. The owner also gave us a bottle of local apple juice and some pears from her garden for our long journey to Chamonix. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi0977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iffinhouse, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Iffin Farmhouse is wonderfully situated for hopping over to the continent. Being only 20 minutes from Dover we often have guests requiring to catch an early ferry or returning from France late (as indeed we do ourselves) so we quite understand the need for accommodating accommodation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed at Iffin Farmhouse for three nights with my border collie, Beauty. Made very welcome and comfortable by owners and staff. Great pub meals nearby - locally sourced fine dining (and Beauty allowed to sit quietly under the table). Terrific walks and views in the area (favourite was around the Whitstable coastline area). Would definitely stay there again for a peaceful break.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank ju_bann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in June 2011. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and would recommend this accommodation to anyone. Sarah - our host was very efficient and friendly. The breakfasts were great and we had an enormous bedroom - plenty of room to spread out!! Also lots of car parking space. Will definitely return if we find ourselves in that area again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simm064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Iffin 2 nights. Absolutely great! A beautiful farm location a short distance from Canterbury center, down a lovely, exciting country lane. And actually easy to find despite some seemingly initial confusing directions. Iffin offers various boarding options and a wonderful breakfast around a centralize table offering the perfect opportunity to meet and socialize with other wordly travellers. Only difficulty is internet access as one must come to a centralize location as opposed to being in one's room.

Room Tip: All roms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinnetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iffinhouse, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Success! Thanks to the advance of technology, we now have internet access in all our bedrooms except ....the Orchard Pickers Cottage where we are still thwarted by the limit of the telephone exchange. However, our guests are welcome to continue to use the breakfast room as before (although one guest recently mentioned his relief at being able to escape from technology!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
3.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,190 reviews
3.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,020 reviews
3.3 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.0 km away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.8 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iffin Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iffin Farmhouse

Address: Iffin Farmhouse Iffin Lane, Canterbury CT4 7BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: ₹ 11,531 - ₹ 14,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iffin Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Four star venue with a five star service. Iffin Farmhouse is a family run business offering luxury accommodation in the heart of the Kent countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iffin Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iffin Farmhouse Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing