We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly scenic and relaxing stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica A
Farringdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly scenic and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed, as a three generation family, at the lovely Hayloft for 7 days. It was relaxing and enjoyable, with just enough nearby for the babies to enjoy their stay whilst also being calm and serene enough for the older generations! Richard and Lindsay were more than accommodating and assisted us with everything we needed (although most of the information you could need is outlined in helpful folders in the dining area). The twenty minute journey into Canterbury was ideal and allowed my partner and I to enjoy an evening out at the Lady Luck and even attend an impromptu Jive class! Overall a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: If I had to find a negative it would have to be the slightly poor WiFi signal however this seemed unimportant.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn R
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday home, disabled friendly.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My husband and I and family, stayed at The Hayloft last week. We had a very enjoyable holiday. The Hayloft is fantastic accomodation with everything you could possibly need.
I am disabled, but found everything accessible, with wet room and everything downstairs on one level. We would definitely go again and would certainly recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCarlin...
GZ, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at the Hayloft last month. We found it to be a great base in Kent, close to Canterbury as well as the beaches of north Kent, but also within easy reach of London. We were fortunate to have some great weather that meant we were able to have plenty of outside time with a number of barbeques for visiting friends. The cottage is extremely well equipped and the very helpful owners are on-site and able to deal with any questions and offer advice on places to visit and things to do. During our stay we were able to take the children to Tenterden and a trip on the Kent and East Sussex Railway - a really quaint and fun day out. We certainly hope that we are able to return next year and would have no hesitation in recommending The Hayloft to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: By some distance, the best equipped and most comfortable cottage that we have stayed in.
Liked least: Nothing it was great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaWx
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They think of everything!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have stayed in the Hayloft 3 times, and we are still impressed. The house is clean, comfortable and has been fitted out to the highest standards. White cotton sheets, fluffy towels, spacious bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen, a generous dining area and a relaxing sitting area all make this property a wonderful holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful ambiance of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin0000...
Beziers, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best self-catering accommodation ever!”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Peaceful location, spacious, extremely comfortable, beautifully furnished, very well equipped. In short, a perfect spot for a wonderful break. We shall undoubtedly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extremely comfortable living room, wood burner and large screen TV with no noise from the kids!
Liked least: the internet connection was not good (needed as I was working most days of our visit).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing