We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location..poor welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Magnolia House

Magnolia House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia House
Ranked #61 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Stanmore London
Level Contributor
243 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location..poor welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Excellent location near to centre of Canterbury. Small but comfortable room with lots of nice touches, minifridge with complimentary wine, water & beer. Nice decor if a bit tired.
A pity nobody had cleaned the toilet and hand basin since the last guests.
Pleasant garden for use by guests. Breakfast good but served in silence, owner has a rather aloof manner, and not very welcoming. Same applied at check in & out.
A bit more charm to match the facilities would make all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstans, Owner at Magnolia House, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
I am sorry that there was the awkward situation on your departure, when you had forgotten to bring your Daily Mail vouchers with you in order to claim the substantial discount for the room, but thank you for putting them in the post, even though they were incomplete. I am also really sorry that everyone, including you, arrived very early and all at the same time, before the normal check-in time, so there wasn't the chance to spend the usual amount of time with you that we would normally have done.
All the bedrooms have recently been enlarged and completely refurbished and are cleaned meticulously daily - if there had been any slip in our very high standards, I would really have appreciated being told so at the time or during the many times you were asked if everything was alright and to your satisfaction, and then I could do something about it. Even though the girls were rushing to get the rooms ready for you before normal check-in, there is no excuse for any slip in standards.
As you told me you had enjoyed your stay with us, I just hope that your subsequent recollections have not diminished your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    17
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
45
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed here with my daughter when she visited the University. The owners had clearly thought about what guests might want - everything from a small fridge in the room to a clothes brush. For breakfast, there was a good choice of delicious fresh food. Magnolia House is easy to find, approaching Canterbury from London. There is off-street parking, and it's a short walk to Canterbury's quaint pedestrianised city centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

A delightful bed and breakfast in Canterbury. Not just a kettle in your room but cafetiere coffee, assorted teas, biscuits and fresh milk in the small fridge. And did I mention a small bottle of wine and water. The owner and her staff are friendly and welcoming and endlessly helpful. Breakfasts are to order and are delicious. The rooms are spotless and charming, if a bit over-decorated. Still, they are highly personal and reflect the owner's taste. The location is excellent for walking ( 15 mins to the centre) and driving. The off-season rates were very reasonable. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouidaweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at this B&B for just 1 night and enjoyed it very much. We stayed in the Garden Room and we weren't disappointed.
Having not stayed in a B&B before (only hotels) we weren't sure how intrusive the service would be. I have to say i dont think there were many other people (if any) staying at the house over the weekend as we didnt come across anyone other than the staff and even that was rare.
The room was imaculate and everything you could possible need was there for you from a fridge stocked with wine/beer/milk on arrival to handmade soaps and body lotions to fresh filter coffee and tea making facilities.

The breakfast was lovely , a great choice for everyone, and luckily we ate alone which made it seem a little more special.

Very nice B&B, would definately return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliefay03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Excellent hotel with all the attention to detail that makes a stay so refreshing. Wonderful breakfasts, served beautifully. Lovely shampoo, shower cream, hair lotion all made specially for magnolia house. Lovely , clean, spotless, very good cleaning. A fridge in the room is a nice bonus and allows you to have a few things in the room. Fresh milk every morning in the fridge is a really nice and refreshing touch, as i so hate those uht sachets of milk that you get in most places. Also you get a bottle of wine when you arrive and water in the fridge. also a good quality hospitality tray with different teas coffee and filter coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits. The only slight criticism and it is slight, is that the hospitality items were not always filled up every day.I only got water in the fridge some days and not every day and no sugar sachets were put on my tray while i was there, although there were enough to last until the day before i left and there were no biscuits on the last two days. However i did get a bottle of beer in the fridge, which was a lovely touch. I would definately recommend and it and i will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larmanregister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 km away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#7 of 81 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#55 of 81 in Canterbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 km away
Arthouse b + b
Arthouse b + b
#35 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 km away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Property: Magnolia House
Address: 36 St. Dunstans Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,710 - ₹ 4,534
Hotel Class:5 star — Magnolia House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star gold award winning Georgian home, set in a quiet residential street ten minutes stroll from Canterbury city centre. It is close to the universities and public schools and is ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All of the guest bedrooms have been professionally designed with a close eye to detail to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Canterbury
Magnolia House Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing