We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was Miss Marple?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012.

The hotel is easy to find, the parking ample and the overall first impression is good.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are basic but adequate and clean. Don't expect too much though. We were given an ensuite room with a tiny shower. The breakfast could be better.

Having gotten the boring information out of the way I should say something about the atmosphere. The gardens are large and the communal areas like the dining room and snug are also quite grand. The wallpaper is extraordinary and floral. The dining room is filled with antique clocks and the furniture is straight out of the 1890s.

The only thing that could be classed as disappointing was the total lack of murder mystery. Where was Miss Marple? Why was she not sitting in the snug awaiting my untimely death? I can imagine my parents going there on holiday in the 1950s and having EXACTLY the same experience (minus the WiFi). I'm not saying it was bad. Far from it. The hotel is stuck in a post-war time warp. I imagine that most Americans believe that we (the English) still live this way and to be honest coming from London where courtesy is a rude word it was a breath of fresh air to drive in to the 1950s and experience what can only be described as good old fashioned hospitality.

As I said, the service, cleanliness, food and overall experience were very good. The only thing that could possibly upset a person who came to stay here is the lack of modern decor and comforts. It is was it is and it does what it does as my father would say. It is an English Country Hotel and it behaves quite well for an English Country Hotel. Do not expect bells or whistles.

The swimming pool was also excellent in so much as it was relatively large and extremely quiet.

Room Tip: Take a swimming costume. The indoor pool is very good.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corneredmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here as part of a golfing trip with 7 others . We stayed 3 nights and hired 5 rooms

The hotel has large bedrooms, has all amenities and friendly helpful staff all seemed to be well trained. Breakfast was excellent, plentiful and served quickly and efficiently. The garden was large and tidy and there was no problem parking with all free parking and free Wi Fi etc. personally I hate all these add ones which other hotels and chains use to bolster up the price

The price for the 3 days was I consider reasonable being £95 for twin occupancy and £75 for single occupancy

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Molland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stay here fairly frequently with work.
It's a basic hotel, but it's clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and the food is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A very comfortable hotel, within close walking of the centre of Canterbury. Warm welcome by all staff, with clean, smart bedrooms. Provides a full restaurant and a separate lounge and bar. Breakfast was full English and well cooked, along with a good dinner selection. Stayed 2 nights with a room overlooking the back garden, which was quiet and offered good views. Hotel provides a pool, which we did not use, but saw other guests utilizing the facility and commenting on the cleanness of the pool. A great place to stay if visiting Canterbury and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook garden and good garden views
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Room and facilities including the pool were clean and pleasant, and good value for money. Only downside were the old sash windows that let in a lot of road noise.
Tempted by the variety of the menu and French chef, we decided to try and the restaurant. Big error.
Started with a horrible cocktail and informed that a few nuts or olives to go with it had to be PAID FOR. Food was just average pub grub, down to the oven chips and tepid white wine slopped on the table by the unpleasant bored waiter. By the time that Leo Sayer came around again on the loop of 70's easy listening muzak, we left.
Summary: would use the hotel again but - inclusive breakfast aside - would never eat in that restaurant again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,956 reviews
1.6 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
1.3 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
322 reviews
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: ₹ 6,457 - ₹ 14,745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury
Ebury Hotel And Serviced Apartments Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing