We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not getting any better”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here again as there really isnt too much choice in Canterbury and my son has been at Uni here ......he has finished now so wont have to stay again!
The rooms are small and just not great.....rubbish wardrobes that look like a really bad DIY'er made them and you cant hang much in them as they are so small. Reception are nice and friendly but the bar service was really poor this visit...... was better on previous visits. The breakfast is always good freshly made and service is really very good.....shame the rooms let this place down as the location is great.........but you may not have much choice but to stay here!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the hotel....drunken students at 3am coming out of bars and clubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STRINGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry that you don’t like our bedrooms. We offer 6 category of bedroom from our comfortable rooms all the way to our most enviable (junior suite) and the fabulous suites which has a roof terrace overlooking the Cathedral.
Thank you for your kind comments relating to the team and the quality of breakfast.
Regards
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,735 - 1,739 of 2,071 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

My daughter and I recently spent two nights at the Abode Hotel, which is in the centre of the high street. The staff were extremely warm and friendly. The car park is very small and was full by the time we checked in. The staff were very helpful and gave us directions to a nearby public car park, which was also very secure. Our room was just lovely and had everything we needed. Coffee/tea making facilities, including some scrummy cookies (not the dreaded shortbread you get in most hotels). An iron and board! The beds were like giant marshmallows! Heaven! The bathroom was spacious and the shower was great. I loved the bar of soap so much, that I took it home with me!
We had a cocktail in the champagne bar, which is located just off the lobby. It's a lovely, comfortable room. Big leather sofas and a nice, relaxing atmosphere. We chose the continental breakfast, which we enjoyed. On the second evening, we had dinner at Michael Caines (the chef, not the actor) restaurant, which is in the hotel. The meal and service was exceptionally good. The Abode is a hotel I would feel very comfortable staying at if I was travelling alone. The staff made me feel at ease. It's also centrally located. It's the perfect hotel in the perfect spot!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mydogtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We booked an Enviable room via the Adobe website as we wanted something a little bit special for a couple of nights. The room was described as a junior suite on the website with a seating area while the pictures showed a spacious apartment with sofa, chairs, etc. Staff were friendly and chatty at reception but maybe lacking in professionalism or lacking in professional boundaries. Upon entering our room we were less than impressed with the difference between the description and the reality. Seating area was a desk in one corner with a wooden chair which you would find in pretty much any hotel. The room was very nice and clean as was the bathroom but small and lacking that special touch that we were paying for. The reception staff threw in breakfast for free once we complained but even that was a disappointment. Cheap breakfast in the town was ten times nicer than the cold fare served in the hotel restaurant while even a bacon sandwich here was dry and burnt. As was the toast. The staff aren't exactly Linford Christie either making for lukewarm drinks and cold breakfast. Overall, wouldn't recommend to anyone except people I don't like. Not worth it for the money. Overrated and trades on Micheal Caines reputation but forgetting about the core purpose of a hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a cheaper room rather than Enviable or go to a Travel Lodge. Rooms aren't that different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you fro taking the time to write your review. We do take great care to make sure the room types advertised on websites are an accurate representation of the category our guests book. I am sorry you feel this is not the case.
We do offer a very high standard of breakfast at the hotel, I apologise for the inconsistencies with the breakfast you received.
Regards
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice and loved it both times. Perfect location being right on the door step of the town. Rooms modern and clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Small car park and first time struggled to find it. We ate both times in the Taverna just down from the hotel very good food. Breakfast in the main restaurant very high standard. We would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALT302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were put up here after our original choice had overbooked. We arrived early off the train, so we had them take our bags and hold onto them until check-in at 2 pm. At check-in, the woman behind the counter tried to charge an extra £50 onto my card in case I was going to order anything. We were only staying for one night, so I couldn't understand why we would spend that much. Thankfully she asked just before she swiped my card, so I was able to say no to that.

When we arrived in our room, we were surprised at how small it was. I believe it was £155 for the night for the "Comfortable" room (we payed what we would have at our original hotel, which was less), and the room couldn't have been more than 15'l x 10'w. The bathroom was also on the small side, but not terribly small. We took a nap after having been up since 4:45 that morning, and the bed was very firm. I prefer a soft, pillow-top mattress, but you could feel the springs in theirs. Still, it was better than nothing.

Additionally, there was a basket of food and drinks on the table. I assumed it was free, perhaps a welcome basket. But alas there was a piece of laminated paper sticking out the back with prices for everything. This was my first time in a European hotel, and upon asking a family member they told me it's quite common to have such food in a hotel. It's frustrating to say the least.

I would not recommend showering in their showers, but rather take a bath. The tub is quite high, and although I'm not very short (5'6), I can see it being difficult to get in and out. Also, there's no curtain. You have a 2' long glass wall that you have to stay behind or else water will go everywhere. Which, for my fiancé and I, it did. Between the two of us, it looked like the bathroom floor was flooded. I would have liked to have had a shower curtain or something to pull across so we didn't ruin the floors. Also, some conditioner would have been nice. They provided two different lotions, but only one bottle of washing soap, which is meant for your body and hair.

It was a disappointing place. I can't comment on the included breakfast as we slept through that, but it might have been good. You pay for the location, which is essentially right in the middle of the city centre. The beds are stiff, the showers are messy, and it was a cramped room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do ask on check in if you would like to charge any items to your room and that a preauthorisation of £50 is charged to your card, which is refunded in the morning if not used.
Our beds are hand made vi-spring beds which are medium tension, as we feel this accommodates most of our guest’s preferences.
We do charge for the tuck box in the comfortable rooms, this is offered with our compliments in the most desirable, enviable and fabulous rooms.
We offer a range of bespoke toiletries from Arran Aromatics, we do not have a conditioner at the moment I will raise this with Arran Aromatics. We prefer to use a shower screen rather than a curtain as we feel this is more hygienic.
I appreciate your feedback, if returning to Canterbury do check availability on our website, as rooms are available from £99 depending on availability.
Best regards
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,217 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
469 reviews
1.3 km away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.5 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: ₹ 6,421 - ₹ 17,503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel
ABode Canterbury Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing