We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

We had a most desirable room which was very stuffy even with air con which wasn't good enough for the size of room looking out of the window the view was a sky light on a roof which was covered in bird poo ! Car parking is terrible it 40 mins for hotel staff to let us in the car park because it's so small people were being sent to other local car parks when we asked if its always so hard to park the girl on reception just laughed and said oh yes it is It really isn't worth the prices they charge the staff in the champagne bar were lovely and the bed in room was very comfortabl buy the room itself was very basic for the money

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry for the delay in parking your car. We do have limited car parking at the hotel. We are looking to rent land opposite the hotel which can be converted into a car park that can accommodate 25 cars in the near future. Thank you for your kind comments relating to the champagne bar staff.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    572
    331
    187
    80
See reviews for
279
1,094
67
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This place is great ! The room i stayed was fab , even had free standing bath ! Room has a complimentary tuck box upon arrival with all sorts of goodies , what a lovely touch . Situation of hotel is fantastic & i heard no late night revellers . We ate in the old brewery & i can't complain , was with a group of six & we all liked it . I also had a smashing meal in Michael Caines restaurant , well worth the michelin stars. Yes the car park is small & fills quick but arrive early if you can & it won't be a problem. I liked it so much i might just stay there again . Oh & the champagne bar really does fantastic champagne cocktails & it's great for a late night tipple .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julzzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Another all round good trip to the Abode in Canterbury, third time i have stayed this year with fantastic staff, food and well equipped room.

I stayed in a most desirable room which was not the room i was looking for, if i have any observations then there seems to be a shortfall in the number of Enviable rooms available as they seem to be snapped up very quickly.

The view as always with City Centre hotels is limited unless you are staying at the front of the hotel but the best way to see the city is on foot!

Great food as always, and will be looking forward to my next trip to Canterbury.

Room Tip: Go for an Enviable room if your on a weekend break!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We didn't receive the advertised (by the hotels booking agent Superbreak) on site car parking, and if only we hadn't received a dreadful first morning breakfast experience then this could have been a near perfect break in Canterbury. To be fair the staff recognised the breakfast problem and the next days breakfast was fine. The hotel is in an excellent central location.
Bedroom was a good size but could have done with more working surfaces and a couple of chairs. Clothes couldn't hang properly in narrow wardrobe. We found dinner an excellent experience with wonderful food and above average service by the staff. The cost was £290 for two nights including breakfast. The hotel has good public areas.

Room Tip: For a quieter night ask for a room that doesn't overlook the High Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we have been this place really nice place and friendly staff we enjoy our dinned hare the got a nice restaurant food was really taste we will use this place again thanks abode

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
1.3 km away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,606 - ₹ 23,976
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel
ABode Canterbury Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing