We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang in the centre of town”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bang in the centre of town”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed for one night last weekend in a DesirABle - Deluxe Room. The room, and whole place, was spotless with nice decor. I would particularly highlight the following:-

- Tomtom insisted on going across pedestrian areas. Stour Street is down the side and the street ends at the hotel (it then goes onto the High Street which is pedestrianised).

- The Hotel car park was full however the concierge (Oscar?) kindly helped us with our bags and directed me to a car park about 5 minutes away (£5 for 24 hours which isn't bad).

- Ate in the Hotel Restaurant. The food was great but the menu was a little limited and it was a bit pretentious. The maitre d' was exceptionally helpful in arranging a special, off menu, meal for our six year old (top marks).

- They have a good selection of DVDs to borrow from reception (there was a player in our room).

- On checkout was presented with a range of bills. I found it amusing. Given other similar comments it is something the hotel should look into (change the system or train the staff).

- Great location. Out the front door and onto the High Street.

- The bathroom in the room was on the small size.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FentonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    546
    318
    180
    76
See reviews for
261
1,039
64
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 week. the location is great (in the middle of the high street). also, I changed my room. The first one was small, but the second one was large. rooms are clean and there is an air condition. staff was helpful. Bathroom was very clean and they have a great staff of shampoos and shower jells. the lobby was very small.

Room Tip: choose the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a "Most desirable" room, third up from the base room which is called a "Comfortable". Free wi fi, mini welcome hamper, bath robes, great toiletries and a very comfortable bed. Super clean and well appointed room.

Bang in the middle of town, we had to park some distance away (they sell you a 24 hour parking permit for £5) but this is Canterbury and the slight inconvenience is balanced by pedestrianised zones and a central location.

Pricey but if you want luxury this is the hotel to go for

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed for one night in late February. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were all pleasant and efficient. Had a meal in the hotel's pub, which was good value and with some excellent beers on tap! Altogether an excellent experience and I hope to return for a longer stay in my own time - this was a business trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I booked this hotel for my son and daughter inlaw so that they could have time on their own after a very hectic schedule and them getting married only two days before.
The hotel had a special deal that if you booked in the winter time you could have dinner bed and breakfast for two people at a very discounted price. Which was fantastic !
When I booked I explained to the receptionist that they were newly weds and that it was going to be a surprise . I know that the hotel couldn't do this everytime but they up graded their room and if that wasn't enough they also gave them some compliementry champagne. The happy couple said that the room was luxurious and the food was fantasic and that the staff were amazing. Having never stayed in this hotel myself I was quite jealous. So I am definately going to make a reservation in the near future.
I would like to say a great big thank you for making my son and daughter in laws stay so special and I would like to say a big Thank you to Oscar who was so lovely and helpful.
A Martin

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,558 - ₹ 27,040
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel
ABode Canterbury Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing