We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
62
37
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
37
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreriverside walkbefore check in timelate arrivalminute walkvery pleasant staydouble bedroombiscuitsfree car parkingfull englishpower showerperfect hostsnext morningselection of cerealsoff road parkingnight stayexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Just back from a short stay, but will back again in 5 weeks. We have stopped many times over the last 3 years and each time is perfect and faultless. A perfect location, just a short riverside walk to the centre of Canterbury. Very clean, spacious and comfortable, lovely breakfast, David and Sandra are perfect hosts, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramhaining, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you so much for another glowing review. It's such a pleasure to welcome you every time you visit Canterbury and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

A pleasant 10-minute riverside walk from the historic centre. A warm welcome. Helpful guidance notes. Spotless & comfortable room. Hot drink equipment in rooms. Excellent breakfast - decent sausages for once.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Never stayed at a B&B before but after staying at St. Stephens Guest House, I have definitely changed my mind. Very clean, charming, easy walk to downtown City Center for entertainment, site seeing, shopping and food. David was a wonderful host and his wife breakfast was amazing and most of all the price was great for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 2183cn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Loved this guest house. Dave and Sandra are super friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Could come and go as you wish. Easy walk to Kent University ( about 25 min,), 10 minutes to train, 15 minutes to downtown restaurants and shops. Very clean and comfortable rooms and ensuites. I stayed in a 3 single bed room (#1) and a 1 double bed room (#3). Both were equally lovely.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We spent 3 nights in late June at St Stephen's guest house, we arrived Gatwick early morning and drove directly to Canterbury, arriving a number of hours before check in time, Sandra was very welcoming and our room was ready so we were able to take a much needed nap.
It is a very convenient location, you can walk into town along the river in about 10 mins, another 5 mins will get you to the cathedral and the river tours.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
One other comment if you are visiting from Canada as we were, you can watch the traffic at the roundabout from the dining room window, it's fascinating to see what looks like intricate choreography and a great spot to take a short video to show people at home

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank canadiangardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramhaining, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for the lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to host you. Enjoyed our conversation about roundabouts! We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back if you return to Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews