We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Stephens Guest House
Ranked #16 of 78 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

You cant see the house clearly from the road but the entrance is on the side off market way there are enough parking spaces. we stayed in rooms 2 & 3 both were very clean a bit on the small side but who needs an enormous room.comfortable double bed, modern furnishings, hairdyer, free wi-fi
selection of tea & coffee & biscuits. Large bathroom with bath & shower over, Toiletries supplied, this was cleaned daily and the bed was made daily. plenty of towels. (We would have liked to have stayed in the older part of the house but it was booked) Lots of choice for breakfast and the full English was very nice and big, plenty of toast and spreads, tea or coffee. The owners are very nice warm and welcoming. paper shop across the road for morning papers. very easy to walk into town takes about 15 minutes either by street or the riverwalk we will definitely stay here again when we visit canterbury

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    32
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
45
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed here whilst daughter was competing in a competition. After speaking with the other parents, we had the better deal. The room as very nice, tidy and clean. We had asked for an early breakfast, this was no problem. A shame we couldn't stay longer. We had the misfortune of leaving an item behind. This has very kindly been sent to me. Can't ask for anything more. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinsel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great welcome arrived early BUT no problem as room was ready. Room clean, crisp and clean bright bath/shower room .Lots of towels, soap, shampoo etc, Lots of tea and coffee oh and hot choc...
It was an early summer day so took advantage of the comfortable seating to the front and basked the sun.
A short walking distance from town which holds a wealth of eateries for diverse pallets.
The owners have taken great care with protection and security of the building and patrons.
BREAKFAST IS better than most hotels, lovely breakfast.
If in Canterbury stay here @ St Stephen oh and a good and very fair rate,
I would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOOSYGOOSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This bed and breakfast accommodation was chosen for me but I could not have chosen better myself.
My room was large, clean and comfortable, breakfast was delicious and more than ample. The proprietors delivered a friendly service and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: For a quiet modern room ask for one in the modern extension at the back on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsChrisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramerino, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable comments, it was a pleasure to meet you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have almost completed the refurbishment of the bedrooms on the 1st floor as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Well I'm back staying at St Stephen's Guest house and I really am glad. Bedroom is well decorated, clean and I have everything I need for a really good 2 night stay. Sandra and David are again very pleasant and helpful - always a smile which is great after a long journey down from Edinburgh. Lots to see and do around Canterbury and this accommodation is perfect as it is so central that all you need. I'm glad to be back! I like the fact that you are asked when you want a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramerino, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, which is very valuable to us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.7 km away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.9 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.1 km away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 78 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 km away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#7 of 78 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Stephens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Stephens Guest House

Property: St Stephens Guest House
Address: 100 St. Stephens Road, Canterbury CT2 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — St Stephens Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Stephens Guest House Hotel Canterbury
St Stephens Guest House Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing