We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Canterbury!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Stephens Guest House
Ranked #16 of 78 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Canterbury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Well I'm back staying at St Stephen's Guest house and I really am glad. Bedroom is well decorated, clean and I have everything I need for a really good 2 night stay. Sandra and David are again very pleasant and helpful - always a smile which is great after a long journey down from Edinburgh. Lots to see and do around Canterbury and this accommodation is perfect as it is so central that all you need. I'm glad to be back! I like the fact that you are asked when you want a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramerino, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, which is very valuable to us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    32
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
45
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just 10 minutes from the centre of Canterbury. Near to many restaurants and easy to explore the city. Good location also for exploring around the area too. The room was comfy and very clean. It was fairly small but was adequate. The bathroom was fine. Breakfast was very good. Friendly staff and pleasant atmosphere. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayneeded72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Helpful friendly staff. Sandra organised us with a map and directions round town when we arrived. It is very conveniently located and easy to get to. Our room was on the first floor and is not yet renovated, but Rome was not built in a day. It was a fair size and the bed was very comfy, but the shower and wc looked like they were fitted in a cupboard. I am sure this will change when the owners do the first floor. The breakfasts were delicious and they will go out of their way to cook you exactly what you want. A very reasonable rate meant it was busy and I am sure that is a reflection on the hosts, who know exactly what they are about and are efficient and very convivial. We would certainly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suitcase-susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

St Stephens is well located, being just a 10 minute walk from the start of Canterbury’s main tourist area. A good breakfast is served in the nicely decorated breakfast room, and the house has a pretty front garden. Inside, there is a surprising lack of traffic noise given that it is on a busy road. There is good wifi and some free parking on-site. We stayed for three nights.

On the negative side, our double room was small and we had difficulty finding enough space to open our two suitcases. Also, the walls are very thin and noise from upstairs and adjacent rooms was sometimes quite intrusive.

In summary, a pleasant and inexpensive guesthouse, but with some drawbacks.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lananarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Have just got back from this guest house. The location for Canterbury is fantasic. The guest house tho is very poor. The beds you could feel the springs, the pillows were well worn so very flat. The shower had mould on the curtain and tiles were coming off the wall. We did not have the breakfast. In my opinion do not stay in this B&B their are plenty more in the area. We were very disappointed with the quality of this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramerino, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay with us.

As indicated in previous management responses we are in the process of refurbishing all of our facilities. The ground floor bedrooms and corridor have now been completed.

It is frustrating though that the reviewer could have raised any issues during their stay. They also had the opportunity to do so when asked about their stay on check out, however, they informed us that everything had been ok.

This review seems to have been built on the basis of the room alone, without sampling other aspects of our hospitality.

We continue to strive to provide excellent service and value for money for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.7 km away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.9 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.1 km away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 78 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 km away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#7 of 78 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Stephens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Stephens Guest House

Property: St Stephens Guest House
Address: 100 St. Stephens Road, Canterbury CT2 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — St Stephens Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Stephens Guest House Hotel Canterbury
St Stephens Guest House Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing