We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Stephens Guest House
Ranked #17 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Have just got back from this guest house. The location for Canterbury is fantasic. The guest house tho is very poor. The beds you could feel the springs, the pillows were well worn so very flat. The shower had mould on the curtain and tiles were coming off the wall. We did not have the breakfast. In my opinion do not stay in this B&B their are plenty more in the area. We were very disappointed with the quality of this guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramerino, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay with us.

As indicated in previous management responses we are in the process of refurbishing all of our facilities. The ground floor bedrooms and corridor have now been completed.

It is frustrating though that the reviewer could have raised any issues during their stay. They also had the opportunity to do so when asked about their stay on check out, however, they informed us that everything had been ok.

This review seems to have been built on the basis of the room alone, without sampling other aspects of our hospitality.

We continue to strive to provide excellent service and value for money for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

Enjoyed our stay at St. Stephens. The couple who own the B&B are very friendly and nice. The room was cleaned everyday and in good condition. However, the bathroom needs some work: toilet seat was loose, mold around the tub, some grey stuff on the walls.

Close location - about 5 minute walk along the river to get into town. Wifi is good too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GentriaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramerino, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2011

Thank you for your feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

This particular room and its ensuite have just been redecorated last week. This completes the refurbishment of the ground floor rooms and we continue to upgrade the rooms and their facilities throughout the guest house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I booked this trip as a weekend get-away from London for my girlfriend and I. We came to look around Canterbury, which is such a nice place. We will be back again, for sure.

The B&B was quite easy to find although its better to follow a map for reassurance as the numbers on St Stephens road jump around in strange fashion. I recognised the B&B from the website, and it sits just around the first bend on the road. There is a handy newsagent opposite, and a zebra crossing that leads you to the front door of the B&B.

Having read the other reviews, and their comments to the dated feeling of the inside, I did wonder what the inside would be like. But I have stayed in many B&B's and what is nice about them is the charm of the place being that it has been developed from someones home over a long period of time, and this place certainly had a very homely feel to it. I think some people book a B&B and expect a purpose built hotel.

Check in was easy and we were in the room very shortly after booking our breakfast slot for the next morning. The room was nice, a good size for the 2 of us, hanging area for clothes, tea making facilities. The bathroom was nice. TV was a little small, but you dont go on holiday to watch TV so to catch up with the news and weather in the morning it was ideal. Fresh towels and luxury toiletteries are provided. Even biscuits for dipping in tea - which you dont always find these days! Free WIFI too - just ask for the code at reception.

After a long day walking around we collapsed into bed and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent, there was as much of anything as you do or dont want. To top it off the couple who run this B&B are really nice and chatty and they have a lively young boy. We would and probably will stay here again as we loved Canterbury and we really enjoyed our stay at St Stephens Guest House.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Positives
Excellent price, plenty of parking, spot on location, nice welcome/service and a decent breakfast.

Negatives
Only one - the decor in the room was very tired and dated (inc curtains, carpet etc) and the bathroom could do with a refit.

Nice B&B, nothing a bit of TLC wouldn't sort!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mildcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed for one night in November. On the positive side, the location is good. There is free car parking and the outside of the house is impressive. Rooms were very clean, owners friendly and breakfast was good.
It's let down by being stuck in an 80's decorative hell. It's a long time since I've seen rag rolled walls with a floral border in peach! The room we had was very small for a double, although the bathroom was a good size. Alas having a big bathroom with only a shower and no bath was a waste of space. The paint was peeling on the radiators and the carpet was frayed in many places. It has a small portable TV stuck on the wall with just the four channels. Our wardrobe was open plan, it was all very basic.
Maybe we were unlucky and some other rooms have been refurbished, but having stayed at other B&B's charging the same rates, this was not value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComeonAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramerino, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2011

Thank you for your feedback, which is most appreciated. I'm glad you found the staff friendly, the room clean and breakfast good. I agree that the rooms are dated and in need of updating but having been here less than a year we've only just been able to start with the refurbishment, which is now underway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.5 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
413 reviews
0.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
4.2 km away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#2 of 74 in Canterbury
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 74 in Canterbury
384 reviews
0.8 km away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#1 of 74 in Canterbury
830 reviews
0.7 km away
The White House
The White House
#6 of 74 in Canterbury
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Stephens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Stephens Guest House

Address: 100 St. Stephens Road, Canterbury CT2 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — St Stephens Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Stephens Guest House Hotel Canterbury
St Stephens Guest House Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing