We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central & good value”

St Johns Court Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Johns Court Guest House
Ranked #44 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Central & good value”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Perfectly situated B&B in central Canterbury, walking distance to almost everything, yet not too noisy. Landlady very helpful and friendly, room decent size but bit cramped due to 2 beds in it and a bit dated and flouncy. No en suite, but quite a choice of bathrooms in the hallway and a basin in the bedroom. Great breakfast. Parking in courtyard was free and really good to have.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard so that you don't ahve anys treet noise and can see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeofmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
23
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Despite some concern about certain reviews (porridge?!) my friend and I had the most lovely stay here. We had a lovely big room for us and could see the catherdral out of the window! The owner was very helpful and her wit made us smile. Location cannot be faulted and with parking included its a fabulous bonus. Breakfast was delicious and we were able to help ourselves to all sorts of teas and coffees throughout the day. Thoroughly recommend and will certainly be back if fortunate to visit the city again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skjonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

On arrival at the B&B, we made the mistake of entering via the courtyard that led to Mrs Rowe's own bungalow. She then gave us a severe telling off for not having the common sense to find out the official B&B entrance (not indicated by sign because there are students in town...) and she went on to lecture us about all the previous guest who had made the same mistake (not seeing the irony). It was very unleasant to arrive to a telling off.

We were made to feel like told off school children. But it didn't surprise us, as when we called to make the booking she had come across as quite controlling and unfriendly. I managed to find a space in her lecture to comment on how unwelcoming it was to arrive and to be told off and that as paying guests we expect to be made a little more welcome then that. She went on to snap, "well you can take your money and stay elsewhere if you want!" We would have if not the whole town had been sold out.

This was followed by a lengthy defence (delivered in the rattling pace of someone who needs to simply go through the motions uninterested in her listeners) as to why she has been so startled by our arrival at her personal back door. Canterbury was apparently full of drunken rogues, including a hobo she went on to describe, who had dared to take a kip outside her front door and disturb her precious peace. Clearly the cozy town is besieged by a dark side.

The lecture went on as we were giddly led round the b&b at the speed of lightening and explained so many rules in such a harsh tone it was hard to take it all in and we were grateful when we were finally able to close our door on her. She came across as a resentful, ungracious, argumentative B&B-owner who would rather not have to accept strangers into her house.

Our room was pleasant enough apart from the tacky ornaments and the fact that you had to move the TV to access the mirror. The shared shower and bathroom were not very inviting. The shampoos were the cheapest bottles she could find from Poundland and smelt like toilet cleaner and the water pressure in the shower was pretty weak. Still the price was good and as long as you can avoid the owner it will do for a cheap visit. The place could certainly have been run successfully by some other cheerful owner.

Room Tip: Top floor is good, feels more private and has a glimpse of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rune H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

this hotel was very good,nice rooms nice breakfast,,landlady will have no messing, and keeps a good hotel,right in the heart of canterbury,will defo stay again

Room Tip: top location,top breakfast,will be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanerobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We were a family of four visiting Britain. We thought we had two rooms booked (through Canterbury tourism board). Arriving late in afternoon we found out we didn't have a reservation. The B&B kindly called around for us and we ended up staying at St. John's Court Guest House. Liz is very adamant about rules and safety but we appreciated it very much. She is very chatty and helpful if you need information about Canterbury (sites to see, restaurants, etc). She also gave us brochures and maps of the area. Her breakfasts are very good and you have a choice of different dishes. She also accomodated our older daughter who at first didn't want to share a bathroom. Liz gave us two rooms; one that had a small bathroom in it. We were quite lucky that Liz was able to take us in on late notice and it turned out that her rooms were less expensive than our original B&B! Thank you again for a wonderful stay in Canterbury!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154913Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
306 reviews
0.4 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Greyfriars Lodge
Greyfriars Lodge
#66 of 75 in Canterbury
101 reviews
0.7 km away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 75 in Canterbury
794 reviews
0.5 km away
The White House
The White House
#6 of 75 in Canterbury
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Johns Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns Court Guest House

Property: St Johns Court Guest House
Address: St. Johns Lane, Canterbury CT1 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
St Johns Court Guest House Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing