We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not possible to get any better !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Johns Court Guest House

St Johns Court Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Johns Court Guest House
Ranked #51 of 77 Canterbury B&B and Inns
amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not possible to get any better !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Visiting this very welcome bed and breakfast is an experience that just matches your thoughts about visiting England. Mrs. Rowe is so very friendly, the rooms are really making you feel at home. Recently built bathrooms make your stay complete, not mentioned the ample breakfast, made to your wishes.

We definitly recommend this place to stay in the heart of Canterbury.

Thank you, Mrs. Rowe.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bromboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
23
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Liz and her daughter Jess were very helpful. Liz kindly helped to get the wrinkles out of my dress and my husband's dress shirt by using her dryer. Our room was large, and the shared bathrooms/showers were clean. The location was excellent, a few minutes walk to the sights in Canterbury, so we could leave our car in the private parking area and walk around the city center.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at St John's Court for nine nights in July 201, with Mrs Rowe (Liz) as our hostess. She did everything possible to make us feel so incredibly welcome and was so very helpful and informative - giving us great ideas as to how we could best explore the Kent area. St John's is absolutely spotless and Mrs Rowe's breakfasts were to die for (especially the fantastic mushrooms). There were twelve cereals to choose from (and porridge was definitely available if anyone wanted it!), and the cooked breakfasts were awesome too. St John's is very central to attractions, bus and train stations (we used public transport and found it a great location to start from). We would highly recommend it to anyone, and feel envious of those who have the opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed on a Monday night while in the city on business. Although I'd booked an inexpensive single room I was moved to a family room. The bed was comfortable but note that the rooms are not en suite, although the family room I was in did have basin and toilet en suite. The shower was good.
The landlady is business-like. This suited me just fine - others it may not.
Breakfast was good (I had the full English), and shared a table with the other single occupants as the dining room is small. While this may not be to everybody's liking, I met an interesting lady and had an enjoyable chat.
The location is brilliant. 5mins walk to the City Centre, and located in a quiet street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidUK567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here for one night and had a light, airy room, which was very clean, with a TV on the wall and a sink in the corner. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast really good. I don't think there are any ensuite rooms, but there are plenty of toilets and several shower or bath rooms - I never had to wait.
The location is brilliant - right in the centre of town - and it is first class value for money. I dropped in on two friends staying in a different B+B ten minutes walk away and had a look at their room, and I definitely had the better deal!
Liz is certainly chatty and I think this would make or break your experience; however, if you are willing to chat she can't do enough for you. She really knows the area and has lots of suggestions. I found her helpful and friendly, but as some have suggested, if you want to be left alone, this isn't the B+B for you. But If I ever come back to Canterbury I wil be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 km away
Peregrine House
Peregrine House
#37 of 77 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Johns Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns Court Guest House

Property: St Johns Court Guest House
Address: St. Johns Lane, Canterbury CT1 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
St Johns Court Guest House Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing