We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Azouma Restaurant

Azouma Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 309 Restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Azouma, a Moroccan/Lebanese restaurant has been rated top 3 Arabian restaurant in the country by AA Gill on Sunday times. is located on Church Street in Canterbury, is a calming haven from the bustle of every day life. The traditional dining room, decorated with lanterns and throw cushions, is perfect for romantic dinners, relaxed business lunches, family get-together and fun celebrations. The exotic menu at Azouma features regional dishes from Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia, Syria and Turkey – favorite dishes include the succulent Tagine Djej Bzetoun – slow-cooked chicken with piquant lemon and olives; and the sea bass baked in traditional Lebanese style. There is also a wonderful selection of mezze, delicate couscous dishes, spicy char-grills and delicious pastries, all complimented by fine wines and beers from Arabia and North Africa.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I visited this restaurant last Tuesday it was my second visit, the first visit was before Xmas. it was busy when we walked in, the manager has welcomed us to nice table, we ordered mezze to share for starter it was very nice selection and delicious, the mains lamb tagine and the couscous royal, they were fantastic, nice portion. The price was reasonable on both occasions.
We have noticed new sofas and chairs, it just looked completely newly refurbished restaurant from our last visit.
If you are in Canterbury, I strongly recommend that you visit this restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 267 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

The lunch time buffet is superb! A wide range of food all cooked fresh in the morning. After 4 plates I was well and truly stuffed! The owner/manager, Aziz, is a very welcoming fellow who has a passion for the food served and the atmosphere/surroundings are lovely. Well recommended. I will be back for sure!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2018

A lovely little restaurant - cosy and authentic. We went on a Monday night and got the last table. Interesting menu, even for vegetarians which is always a plus. Shared a mixed vegetarian starter for 2 and it was excellent. Main courses were also of a very high standard. Service was friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gail p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of having lunch at this gem of a restaurant with a reasonably large group.
The lunch buffet was fabulous with all the things we love and many new things to try.
The starters would have been plenty for us all but the mains were worth saving ourselves for. The creaming chicken and beef were my favourite but also the moussaka was very special.
Several members of the group were vegetarian and had lots to chose from.
The deserts were good too- you must try the coconut balls...we have all been dreaming of them and can’t wait for our next visit!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

A cosy retreat just off the city centre.Great for lunch with a friend.Homecooked delicious food .Open buffet means you can taste things and go back for a little more.The weekday lunch is amazing value:3 courses for less than ten pounds (£8.75 plus 10%service charge).If you haven't tried it yet you're missing a gem of a restaurant!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank jacintahills
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Azouma Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Azouma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.