We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Agnes
Ranked #2 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a great time at House of Agnes. Really appreciated the little touches (free water, biscuits, tea facilities, bathroom essentials and an umbrella, as well as earplugs -more on that later) and the cleanliness was spectacular (it's great to feel you're the first to ever use the bathroom. Not something you see everywhere!)
The room itself was furnished nicely, with flatscreen tv and a nice comfy bed with 2 types of pillow.

The minus point for us was the noisy neighbours, who had a 'yearly reunion' in their room up until 1am (why they didn't go to the bar area for their chat, we'll never know). Thankfully, there were some earplugs provided, but the walls are rather slim (we had a stables room).

Unfortunately, you cannot choose your neighbours on a specific night, but other than this, we rate this hotel as one of the best we have visited in the UK. Forgot to mention the breakfast, which was fab (had a double poached egg the first day, which arrived very quickly and a full Kentish breakfast the 2nd day. While it was very indulgent, it was cooked very nicely -no extra fat as it felt oven roasted and the ingredients were of really good quality -super sausages and bacon and a great orange juice with pulp). :)

Highly recommended. The staff were very friendly (the owner speaks v good French too, which is a nice touch). Also, they have a bar area (that we didn't go to, but it's also a nice touch).

Room Tip: Stables room are not insulated to noise, so avoid if you can. In Canterbury, we visited the 'ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchy90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    134
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
97
522
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed over the weekend 23-25 June 12 as part of our 25th wedding anniversary holiday and this was our first visit to Canterbury.
The house car park is accessed via a very narrow passageway - some larger SUV types may struggle here without someone to guide them through.
Our room was in the main house and ticked all the boxes and was better than many true hotels I have stayed in, The bathroom had one of the best showers with fantastic water pressure,
The house is perfectly located to use Canterbury West rail station, which we did twice, a trip to London taking less than an hour.
In terms of location the house is a short walk from the centre of old Canterbury, which had far more to offer than we were expecting,

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boston room. It was at the rear of the house, away from the high street side and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidderminsterkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

this was our first time to Canterbury and House of Agnes. we stayed in the stable block which in our opinion was lovely. There is everything you could want in the room, soft towels, lovely toiletries, tea, coffee and biscuits. The breakfast is a lovely kentish breakfast. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. House of agnes is so central to Canterbury you will not need to drive again till you leave. There is lots to do in Canterbury.

Room Tip: The rooms in the stable block are at the back of the building, so you wont get any street noise BUTs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Great base to explore Canterbury. Staff friendly and helpful, good breakfast andvery good rooms. Access to parking narrow but not a problem and it was good to be able to leave the car off-street. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the House of Agnes--once we got our car through the narrow passage leading to the parking area! We were very thankful for parking in back which allowed us to leave our wheels behind and tour the city on foot. The rooms were clean and the breakfast pleasant. The location is just outside the city gate which is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.7 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1.1 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Property: House of Agnes
Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,748 - ₹ 10,611
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury
House Of Agnes Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing