We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Kings Arms is a fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #28 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Kings Arms is a fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

I normally stay in hotel chains as I know what to expect. However I had to get a hotel within driving distance of Dover and was not able to book in the normal chain hotel. Found the Kings Arms and thought I would give it a go. Fantastic experience, you can feel the history of the place, room quiet, clean and very comnfortable. A range of drinks on the guest tea tray ( including a big box of drinking chocolate). The ensuite - amazing what you can fit into a small space, but everything worked well with a good shower. Hospitable hosts, and the food- the bes qualityt and at a reasonable price. Locals friendly and welcoming, will stay there again. Down side the car parking is limited so we used the nearby car park.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorl916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
26
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

The pub is a lovely old traditional pub and for the price was very good value. The breakfast was really lovely and being vegetarian was well catered for with veg sausages, mushrooms, baked beans, toast etc.
I was in room 1 at the back and couldn't hear any road noise or noise from the bar. The downside for me was location. Its on a main road and not the prettiest part of Canterbury and as I was a women travelling alone, I wouldn't walk from, town back to the pub at night.. If I went to Canterbury again, I would choose a more central location, but of course if your on a budget and with a travelling partner this pub is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

This was a great find!! This is a very old English Inn/Pub. My room, #1, was small but so charming and lots of personalty. Wood beams, little window looking out over the roof, an old skeleton key to open the door. The en-suite WC/restroom was small but very clean and was just fine for me. My mattress and pillows were heavenly (newly purchased I was told).The people there are wonderful and very helpful. The family pets are there also, which gave it more of a home feeling to me. They are very sweet and never in the way. Even though the rooms are over the pub, you cant hear anything! The food (I couldn't get up in time for breakfast) was fantastic and a lot of it!
The locals go to the pub nightly and are so nice and welcoming. They even invited me over to join them and I had a blast! GREAT beers, ales...etc. too.

The Cathedral is within walking distance as well as other sites and loads of shops in the village. The bus station is not far from the Inn and The Kings Head will call you a taxi if needed.

Overall: I have had a great stay, good food, friendly people, easy to get to what I wanted to see and I felt very safe!

  • Liked — I felt safe and very at home here and it was close to what I wanted to see.
  • Disliked — No Lift
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharona57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billericay
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2008

Loved the true and proper essence of the place. The Bar is full of locals and real cask ale is the theme. The place is friendly, food is very reasonable and perfectly acceptable. The rooms are average but the real charm of the place is the History. There’s not many places in the world where you can stay in a 500 + year old building. For value for money and location this charming Inn will be hard to better.

  • Liked — Its charm and character
  • Disliked — Limited carpart spaces
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank martinryder1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.7 km away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
1.1 km away
Peregrine House
Peregrine House
#36 of 75 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: 204 Wincheap, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,028 - ₹ 6,007
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Canterbury
The Kings Head Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing