We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to visit!”
Review of Westons Cider Mill

Westons Cider Mill
Ranked #1 of 4 Food & Drink in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled amongst acres of apple and perry pear orchards, our 400 year old farmhouse, The Bounds, is the centre piece to a truly unique day out. Open seven days a week, visitors of all ages are invited to discover the secrets of traditional cider making by joining one of our daily guided mill tours. Hear how cider is produced from the planting of the orchards to the moment it is poured. Adults are invited to sample our wide selection of ciders and perries on offer in our on site cider shop, whilst the children are able to visit our Play Park for free. For those looking for a delicious meal made from fresh Herefordshire produce, a piece of homemade cake or simply a cup of tea, you will be spoilt for choice at The Scrumpy House Restaurant and Orchard Tea Rooms.Open all year round, seven days a week, there really is something for everyone at Westons Cider Mill.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place to visit!”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We really enjoyed our visit to Weston's Cider Mill.The tour was very informative but not too formal.We were able to talk to the guide and ask questions. It was impressive to see the mill in action and watching the apples tumbling into the cider house was mesmeric. Most impressive of all was the vat house with some very old oak vats.

The site was very quaint and pretty and it was nice to find a family run business where the family are still involved in the day to day running of the business.

The coffee house was charming and the restaurant looked lovely although we did not sample the wares.

Finally, the cider itself was lovely and it was great to sample some of the different types available. A thoroughly enjoyable day.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Susie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    98
    16
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What an excellent morning.”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a fantastic tour which lasts about 1 to 2 hrs and is excellent value for money. There was only four on our tour and the tour guide Annie, was outstanding. You get to taste which ever cider you want at the end of the tour and there was no limit. I've never tried cider before and I was really surprised how much I enjoyed it, so much so a couple was bottled where purchased at the end. You even get a free gift! All in all a great couple of hours no little money spent.

Well done Annie, keep up the good work.

Helpful?
3 Thank travelcharmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not worth the time nor the entrance fee, Don't bother”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My father was keen to see a cider mill after an article on TV he'd seen about apple pressing. We delayed are visit to ensure we saw the apple pressing process ( only done at harvest time (October to December)
We booked 3 places arriving just before 11.00am for the first tour. (three a day) The reception was efficient and we joined other visitors on the tour which started promptly. We were taken the the front of the shop and shown an orginal apple press that was taken out of service in 1999. From there we stood in front of the Weston family house and given the short history of Henry Weston and the current family members role in the business. From there we proceeded to the yard where large piles of stainless kegs were stored. At this point we were told the new bottling and keg filling area (with a spectator gallery) were off limits due health and safety. Noise was blamed. Have these people not heard of ear defenders. We should have been given an option.
Walking to the top of the yard we saw large pits filled with apples. The apples entered the first process using gravity, assisted by water. The apples disappeared down a hole. From there we entered the washing and pressing area. There was nothing to see other than large stainless machines and pipes. We were told how the process worked and then taken to a room with numerous very large wooden vats. That was the end of the tour. Back at the shop samples of cider were given to try. The prices in the shop in some instances more expensive than going to a supermarket. The tour took about an hour including the time in the shop. Very disappointing for the £7.50 entrance fee.(inc a "gift" bottle opener)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We went quite early one day. The leaflet and website make out that this is a family day out but we lasted approx 10 minutes before we just went back to the car and went home.

The area is very small, we went in the shop and were ignored - no tastings to be had.

A big disappointment.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank perfectionists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable - especially if you like Cider!”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Interesting visit and tour which gave a really good insight in to this British, family run business. How many times can you say that these days!?!
Tour was informative and gave good access to the vats, mixing areas etc and really showed the care and attention that goes in to making the cider.
Loads of opportunity to sample the different brands and taste the differences in the brands, Then back to the shop for a free pint glass and opportunity to buy some. Yes you could buy it elsewhere cheaper i suspect but its nice to directly support a UK business!
For £20 for a family of four it was a pleasant mornings visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westons Cider Mill also viewed

Ledbury, Herefordshire
Ledbury, Herefordshire
 

Been to Westons Cider Mill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing