We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
172
91
26
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
91
26
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowes lyon georgian hotel evening meal on arrival family run hotel town centre afternoon tea enjoyable stay beautiful room shower room bed was very comfortable friendly owners nothing too much trouble breakfast was delicious train station main road feel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I chose to stay at this hotel based on previous reviews, and we weren’t disappointed. Michael and Jo were incredible hosts with nothing being too much trouble. We had a suite on the first floor that felt like home from home, with a very comfy bed and a lovely shower room. We ate at the hotel both nights and Michael really can cook! Both meals we had were amazing and the well stocked bar kept us happy! Thank you both for a fantastic stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo D, Owner at Aylestone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review; it was great to welcome you both here and help you enjoy your time in Hereford. Your comments on our food are also most welcome as we really enjoy sharing local produce in our restaurant and bar. We hope your journey home and your continued exploration of the county has helped you enjoy your final few days of your summer break. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aylestone Court and send our best wishes.
Jo and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Myself and 2 friends went for afternoon tea at Aylestone Court Hotel on Saturday. We were met by Jo the owner who was attentive and kind. One of our group was gluten free and her afternoon tea looked incredible! The service was perfect, the afternoon tea itself was delightful and one of the cakes even had a candle in to celebrate a birthday. Jo kindly helped us out of the carpark as it was full and made for some interesting manoeuvres to get out! Was lovely to see a small independent venue full with other groups enjoying afternoon tea. Thank you both, we had a lovely time and will definitely be back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo D, Owner at Aylestone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

What a fantastic review - thank you. We especially enjoy hosting Herefordians and their friends in our restaurant and afternoon tea is the perfect excuse for a get-together. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, the service and the atmosphere; we feel that Aylestone Court is at it's best when filled with happy gatherings. We really look forward to seeing you here again for more tea or for a group private dining booking which we promise is as yummy!
Best wishes and many thanks,
Jo and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The building is extremely impressive from the outside and has plenty of room for offstreet parking. We went up and round stairs and through doors to get to our room which, unfortunately for me being a bit claustrophobic, had a low ceiling (and a patterned low ceiling).
The heat during our stay meant we needed to keep the window open all night (it was already open when we arrived, which I did appreciate) and the room faced a busy feeder road into Hereford. The room had a small fan which we made good use of.
The hotel is an easy 10-minute walk into Hereford, albeit along a scruffy, slightly unkempt street (perhaps the council is cutting costs) - didn't feel like a cathedral town at all. (And yes, this has nothing to do with the hotel, just a general comment.)
Breakfast was excellent and served in the charming Garden Room. Hopefully, renovation work continues apace and the rest of the hotel catches up with this elegant space.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twokiwis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo D, Owner at Aylestone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for your comments on this website which reflect those left on booking.com - we appreciate all feedback. We are pleased that you liked the style and setting of our Grade II listed building but such an accolade comes with limitations as we are sure you understand. Originally built in 1792, Aylestone Court cannot house a lift to the top floor but our Georgian stairs (a later addition) are wide and with a handrail although they do have additional doors on the landings for health and safety purposes. We are surprised about your comment linked to ceiling height as our bedroom ceilings range between 7.5ft-8ft (226-244cm) high which is considerable for an older building; while we appreciate that it is not for everyone, we certainly do not hide the historical charm and quirks of the house on any promotional material. Hereford is a beautiful, traditional Cathedral city and once past some of the less well-cared for areas, the centre of High Town and the Cathedral Green areas are charming - thank you for highlighting that your reflections on Hereford are not linked to our business. We are pleased that you enjoyed your home-cooked breakfast and hope that that set you up for your day as you continued to explore the stunning part of the UK.
Best wishes,
Jo and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Great room/suite on first floor. Great location near the rail station & only a 10 minute walk from the city centre. Lovely building well maintained & breakfast in the Orangery was a delight. The owners & staff are friendly and efficient - I will certainly return and have no hesitation to highly recommend the place for a rural city break.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlinWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo D, Owner at Aylestone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for your very kind and complimentary comments; we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while exploring beautiful Hereford. We hope your return visit is booked soon; it will be an opportunity for you to try our delicious restaurant food as well!
Best wishes, Jo and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Aylestone Court is well located just a few minutes of walk from Hereford railway and bus stations and a short walk from the town centre as well. It also has plenty of parking space. So it is easy to reach.
I had the most pleasant welcome when I checked in, and my previous contact by e-mail was remembered. Every time I walked in or out I was warmly greeted, and asked how I am doing or how the day had been. Like being at home.
I had beautiful large room, with the most confortable bed to sleep in. Everything was clean and the whole property is clearly lovingly taken care of.
The cooked English breakfast is delicious and plentiful. Definitely a great start to a day. The buffet also has fruits, cereals, juice etc. to chooce from.
So, a great stay and recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EricaK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo D, Owner at Aylestone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so so much for your lovely review - we are delighted that you felt so happy here! We genuinely enjoy sharing Aylestone Court and Hereford with our guests so hearing where they have explored and what they have discovered is always interesting. Hearing that you felt so welcomed at our home has made our day; we hope you have reason to return to us soon.
Best wishes
Jo and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews