We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

A very comfortable hotel, nice interior and good value for money. There was a plentiful breakfast and they made eggs to order for you. We managed to get a parking space in the hotel car park, but you can't say there isn't enough council parking available since the hotel's frontage is actually a carpark!

The location is very good, only a 10 min walk to the cathedral .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MidlandsJol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    576
    244
    88
    55
See reviews for
210
976
45
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Recently stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed our stay.
We had a spacious Club room (next to the Grand Suite): very comfortable bed, two armchairs and table, and a large flat screen TV.
The bathroom had shower and bath and a good heated towel rail.
The hotel was clean and tidy throughout, obviously well cared for by pleasant and friendly staff (although unfortunately the Reception staff were somewhat remote and not typical of the majority) .
Restaurant food was very good (although the dinner menu was a little restrictive in choice) and waiting staff were helpful and professional.
Breakfast was outstanding though - both continental and full English, well cooked and nicely presented.
Free wireless internet and parking provided.
Overall, a good short stay hotel, providing excellent value for money, which I would be happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Club rooms have a super king-size bed and sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeEpsomUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband & I stayed here for one night, in room number 101...
The hotel was tastefully decorated throughout & very clean.
The restaurant food was excellent as was the service & all the staff were very professional.
However...the air conditioning/ heating unit in the bedroom was uncontrollable & very noisy, as it was automatically activated every 30 minutes throughout the night & as a result we had very little sleep...
When we reported it to reception in the morning, the receptionist didn't look surprised or offer any explanation. It was obvious by their reaction that this problem was already known about.
If allocated room 101 beware!

Room Tip: Avoid room 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celandyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel is what you would describe as average at best. On the plus side, the room was spacious and the bed very comfy and the room was actually cleaned to a very high standard. The fact the decor isn't to my liking isn't their fault, but if you don't like dark brown colours, this isn't the place for you.
Bad points were plentiful.

1. Arrived at reception. Had to wait five minutes, while both people handled calls. No apologies for waiting, a rather robotic, unemotional service. Then they ask you whether you felt like you mattered in their feedback. Biggest issue was the people working here just could not be bothered. No smile, nothing. When we left, there was no 'did you enjoy your stay', or 'have a nice trip'. Just a cold, robot with no emotion serving you. If you want the personal touch, again, don't go here.

2. Buffet food was freezing cold on both mornings. Waiter serving was so so false. 'Any bread at all?' 'Any tea at all?' In a really artificial, fake voice. Ambience in the dining hall was nil.

3. Room service. Took one and a half hours to come. Then was poor. Burger and chips for £13, the bread three times bigger than the burger. No apologies for being late.

4. Ordered hot chocolate. Man who took order could not be bothered. We asked him what the cakes were on display. He had to go into the kitchen TWICE to find out what they were. Then the hot chocolates were absolutely inedible, tasted like powdered milk. AND it took 15 minutes to serve us, and there was NOBODY else sitting there.

5. No toilet brush in toilet. Why?

I have read their comments back to other people. The bog standard response is.....look at others feedback, I am sure you will see that the majority of people enjoyed their stay here. And the other one - why didn't you come to us with your grievances.

I do not want the same kind of response from the hotel. Why do people not complain? That is obvious. They do not want to make a scene. We did complain about the lateness of the room service, but the other misgivings, it is not worth complaining about, when it seems the staff just could not be bothered.

As for 'most people like it here', I can only say that everyone has different standards or expectations. We came away for a relaxing weekend, and felt it was like a Premier Inn. Not a 4 star hotel, as was claimed.

An average to poor experience.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moses455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We booked at the Winchester Hotel for a family mini break. This hotel is modern and nicely decorated and in good repair. The reception staff were very friendly and we were given the usual option (newspaper etc) and we were given good details of where our room was etc, unlike previous reviews. Our biggest disappointment was the fact the pool was out of use due to renovations which we hadn't been told about. It was on the website but only on the page re the fitness information and not on the home page. However the staff apologised and tried to make it up to our very disappointed children.

The rooms are nicely decorated, well lit and clean. The rooms have individual air conditioning controls and opening windows which was good as it was hot for us so we could open the windows to cool down. The rooms also have hair dryer, iron, fridge etc. Very good for a British hotel which often don't have irons.

Breakfast was piping hot, fresh and an excellent choice. The waiting staff were excellent too. The restaurant food was pricey for what we wanted so we didn't eat there as we were on a budget, but it looked great. There is a children's menu, but it is a choice of two or three courses and for my two picky eaters, it would have been wasted on them!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.7 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.0 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,050 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
1.2 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,041 - ₹ 18,540
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel
The Winchester Hotel & Spa Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing