We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My mom and I stayed in Kelsey, a room in the former post office building across the street from the main inn. We had a clean, spacious room with a large bathroom (with shower-over-tub). Teddy bears on the beds are adoptable and I wanted to take one home! The stairs to the second level are quite narrow and steep, so pack accordingly. We didn't have any problems with noise as we were away from both the street and the pub. Breakfast in the morning was a cereal-and-pastry buffet with hot food cooked to order, and friendly staff. We had dinner in the pub, which, as other reviewers have noted, was a bit overpriced, but very tasty and well-prepared. It's in a great location for exploring the town--around the corner from the cathedral and the high street--but a little difficult to find (you have to wander through and around the cathedral grounds, make a couple of turns, go through the gate, make another turn . . . ) but once you find it you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    190
    86
    40
    26
See reviews for
117
371
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My Husband and I stayed here as a mini honeymoon for a couple of nights and we were not disappointed. Excellent location, charming setting. We stayed in December and it was a perfect time of year to go. The restaurant and pub atmosphere is really cosy and inviting. Not too far away was the Xmas Market which made you feel really Christmasy! The food we couldn't fault, if anything I was overwhlemed with all the food i ate! We stayed in a lovely room, with a four poster bed. There were extra heaters in the room so we stayed warm and cosy. Just a really lovely stay. I would recommend anyone going to Winchester to stay here, or at the very least pop in for a drink!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitewine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were here only for lunch one day and found the Wykeham Arms to be very interesting and charming. Hundreds of pieces of memorabilia on the walls, etc. We could browse for hours. We have a very nice lunch; a little more expensive than you might expect elsewhere, but this place is unique.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just outside a cathedral gate, the hotel was an excellent location for exploring the town. Room was comfortable, although we were directly above the pub and could hear some noise - not a problem on a Sunday night but could be an issue on a weekend.

Speaking of the pub, it's seriously cool and I found myself wishing I had one just like it at home.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank latte4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have been going to the Wyk for many years. During that time it has experienced many variations in quality, from superb to rubbish. (Who can forget Giles Coren's devastating and accurate review some years ago). Thankfully the egregiously miscast manager of that time has moved on. It remains a lovely place in an excellent setting, the staff are excellent. BUT they must start using better ingredients again. The meat in the Wyk Pie was very very poor. This is a major mistake, especially in a signature dish. There are many excellent butchers in the area, Robinson's; the Farm shop at Kingsworthy. Use one of these not this down market sub-moterway service station inedible rubbish. That's all you need to do to make the Wykeham arms great again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disinterested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.5 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,022 reviews
1.2 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
598 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Property: The Wykeham Arms
Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,958 - ₹ 14,341
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester
The Wykeham Arms Winchester, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing