We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have used 4 times this Xmas and New year”
Review of Red Funnel Ferries

Red Funnel Ferries
Ranked #17 of 135 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Red Funnel has a proud history of serving the Isle of Wight since 1820, carrying 3.4 million passengers to the Island each year. We have won awards for safety, innovation & service including Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor every year since 2013. Choose between two stunning routes: our Southampton-East Cowes (former home of Queen Victoria) service takes 55 min, operates 365 days/year and carries vehicles & passengers. On board, enjoy free Wi-Fi, hot & cold food, a bar & coffee shops, or upgrade to the Signature Lounge, for a quieter club class experience. Our 2nd route connects Southampton to the world-famous yacht racing town of West Cowes. Our modern ‘Red Jet’ Hi-Speed catamarans take just 23 min to cross the Solent. Our entire fleet is dog friendly. Look to us for expert travel advice, accommodation bookings, attraction & event tickets. The opening times displayed are our contact center hours.
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Arrived at Southampton early for both my crossings and was put on the earlier ferry with no fuss or bother and drove on both without waiting so very pleased with this. all 4 crossings were great without incident and delicious beverages and food available.

Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hello Derek A

Thank you for leaving your 5* review covering all 4 crossings. I'm delighted that you received a consistent 5* experience over the holiday period.

The team and I look forward to being able to welcome you back on board again very soon.

With best regards

Jit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"isle of wight"
in 496 reviews
"earlier ferry"
in 74 reviews
"red jet"
in 83 reviews
"car ferry"
in 68 reviews
"foot passengers"
in 27 reviews
"red falcon"
in 26 reviews
"loading and unloading"
in 25 reviews
"wight link"
in 24 reviews
"priority boarding"
in 19 reviews
"hour crossing"
in 18 reviews
"signature lounge"
in 16 reviews
"return journey"
in 50 reviews
"top deck"
in 30 reviews
"day trip"
in 69 reviews
"both ways"
in 35 reviews
"ferry service"
in 39 reviews
"efficient service"
in 25 reviews
Filter

220 - 224 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We used a voucher and got a good deal on a weekend return! It was a nice easy and relaxing crossing. We also took the dog and sat in the pet friendly area which has a good cafe!

Thank RhinoKellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hi RhinoKellie

Thank you for leaving your 5* review! It's enormously appreciated, I'm delighted you all had a wonderful trip.

With best regards

Jit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Having a number of friends living on the Isle of Wight we always use the Red Funnel Ferry service when travelling with a car.
Despite the weather our experience is that they generally running time.
The restaurant facilities are very good, especially the special Big Boys Breakfast if you are really really hungry. It's huge.

Thank peterwV975TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hello peterwV975TL

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive review. We're delighted you enjoyed your journey, particularly the on-board catering. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards

Jit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Good breakfast good service clean and tidy staff very helpful when weather good nice to ride on top deck slightly expensive journey

Thank _neillawson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear _neillawson57

Thank you for leaving us 5 stars and for choosing to travel with Red Funnel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your day with us and Happy that the weather was pleasant for you.

We aim to be the leading travel services to and from the Island so it is always a pleasure to hear your positive comments, all feedback is important to us.

In regards to pricing, we always advise to achieve the maximum savings is to try and book as early in advance as you can, if you don’t already please also follow our Facebook and twitter pages (@redfunnel) where we post all our current offers and promotions, you may be even to save that little bit more.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you on-board with us again soon.

Warm regards
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

It was my first time to be on a ferry and was expecting the turbulence but it was very smooth. They offered tasty meals and snacks on board.

Thank Hoàng Anh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Hello Hoang Anh L

Thank you for leaving us a nice review and for sharing your experience with us.

It’s great to hear that you enjoying your sailing with Red Funnel. Many other people like yourself don’t normally know what to expect when boarding our RORO raptor ferries, we are continually surprising our passengers with how smooth the sailing is.. some even say that they forget they are even travelling on water!

From all of us here at Red Funnel, we hoped you enjoying your time over on the beautiful Island and hope to be able to welcome you back on-board with us soon.

Kindest regards
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Funnel Ferries also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Funnel Ferries? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing