We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They have got it spot on!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Retreat Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Retreat Guest House
Ranked #13 of 33 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
West Sussex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“They have got it spot on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for the Great South Run, and what a treat it was to stay in such a comfortable b&b with only a short walk to the start. We stayed in the Ward room, the bathroom was out of this world, a jacuzzi bath, which was just what you needed after a long run with tired legs. The room was huge, well decorated and spotlessly clean. Mark and Sian were the perfect hosts, and I feel REALLY guilty for not being able to sleep on the first night (that is what comes of living in a really quiet cul-de-sac where no traffic goes by) I did sleep perfectly the second night and would not let this stop me from booking the same room again. Probably one of the best b&b's we have stayed in, certainly the best in Portsmouth by far, keep up the good work Mark & Sian.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibongos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
106
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

After so many positive reviews we can only confirm that this B&B is everything previous guests have said. Sian and Mark are gracious hosts and their B&B, a charming old English home, is tastefully decorated, very clean, light and airy and very comfortable. Great attention has been paid to keep the spirit of this house and it’s previous occupants lend their names to the 4 different bedrooms. We stayed in 2 of the bedrooms, “The Emmanuel” & “The Cooper”. The first is very big and has a bath and shower, the latter is more cozy and has a parquet floor, a plus for people with allergies. The little extra touches of cottonwool & cottonbuds in the bathroom and mineral water, biscuits e.t.c were very thoughtful and much appreciated.
I also enjoyed the guest lounge room which had the daily papers and some light reading.

Sian is very helpful and forthcoming with advice about restaurants and the various attractions in Portsmouth when asked. Portsmouth is reputed for it’s seafood and we ate very well at the “Abarbistro” and the “Relentless”. One could spend the best part of a day visiting the Historic Dockyards and shopping at Gunwarf Quays. B&B is well located in a quiet residential quarter but just around the corner from shops, restaurants and bars. In October, we had no trouble with parking and found a park each day opposite the B&B, Mark provided us with a permit. Their breakfasts are generous and varied and I particularly enjoyed the cut fruit platter. My hat off to you both Sian and Mark. If only all B&B’s had your professionalism, high standards and sense of hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fellotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Like others we've stayed in other B&Bs in Portsmouth and this is by far the best we've been in. The house is fantastic, the room we stayed in was first class, breakfasts are spot on and Mark and Sian the perfect hosts. We will be using it again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have stayed in several places in Portsmouth and this is easily the best. We are disappointed to have taken so long to find it and will keep it as first choice from now on. We stayed in the Franklin Suite which is a large, well appointed double room with a very comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. Breakfast was as good as all the other reviews say.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arkalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Retreat Guest House has loads of character and charm. We stayed in Ward room which is generous and very well appointed. There was a good Wifi internet connection. Mark was a great host and prepared us a fantastic breakfast. Mark also provides a permit for on street parking during the stay.

Well situated in Southsea it is just a short walk to the coast. Portsmouth Historical Dockyard is only a 30 minute walk away, so is manageable without the car. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Kangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.3 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.9 km away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.9 km away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Guest House

Property: The Retreat Guest House
Address: 35 Grove Road South | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO5 3QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,535 - ₹ 8,577
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II listed building in the heart of Southsea’s conservation area, this Victorian house has been extensively modernised and now offers contemporary comforts whilst retaining its original character.Carefully restored and sensitively refurbished, this beautiful original Victorian building now houses 4 spacious en suite rooms, each of which is individually designed in a unique boutique style. Every stylish and attractive room features great modern comforts and facilities, including LCD flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. A generous full cooked English breakfast is included in the price and is complemented by fresh cafetière coffee and speciality teas.The Retreat Guest House offers the best of all worlds: beautiful period character and charm, alongside contemporary comforts and amenities. The guest house also has a superb location, tucked away in a quiet street in the heart of Southsea, close to all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing