We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset House Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 121
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 138
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Number Four Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
US$ 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 140
US$ 136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pier(Portsmouth)
US$ 114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
260
79
19
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
79
19
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorence armsmercer collectionsuperior suitelovely hotelcooked breakfastparking permitmercer groupbeautiful roomclose proximityon arrivala ground floor rooml'occitane toiletriesa lovely stayquiet roadpower showergastro pubbooked rooms
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel, perfect location and amazing staff, we can’t wait to return in the summer.
Our room was spotless and the breakfast was great. The Florence Arm was a great little pub and very welcoming. I would stay in any of these boutique hotels, we’ll!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Al569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your perfect review, it is wonderful to have such glowing feedback!
We are pleased that you felt well looked after at both Somerset House and in our Gastro Pub, The Florence Arms.
We would love to welcome you back, remember to call or email us for your next booking so that we can offer you personalised room selection at the best rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Stayed overnight with our granddaughter in a large room with a very high standard of decoration. The facilities were excellent, towels, toiletries etc of high standard. The main bed which was huge was both comfortable and warm. Breakfast, which was included in the price was served to us by a friendly and attentive waiter and the food again was excellent. We felt the hotel was excellent value for money and the staff extremely helpfull. Parking for us was in the street, but the hotel provided a permit and finding a space was no problem.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Roger, thank you for your lovely review.
We are pleased that you found your room to be of a high standard, from the decor, to the L'Occitane toiletries!
We appreciate your kind comments regarding staff, we take pride in the level of service that we provide and to have that recognized means a lot to The Somerset House team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return. Just call or email us for the best rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

I booked Somerset hotel as a birthday gift to my husband.
I managed to grab a bargain for phoning directly and speaking to the lovely lady in reception. They were so helpful and friendly, it made planning everything so easy and stress free. They let me check in at 1pm to set up the room and left me to it to get the already clean room ready as I saw fit (I had flowers and presents that I wanted to set up)

Parking is free on street with a permit given by reception (in a different building just opposite the Somerset house)

We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast which has a really good selection of cooked options and buffet of continental items.

Our only gripe which we mentioned to staff upon checkout was that the shower in our room was only running boiling or super boiling water and we couldn't work out the temperature at all. It was either our own fault for not knowing how to work taps (do'h) or something that needed to be looked at by the hotel itself.

All in all a lovely stay and we will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bengalihalalfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your pleasant review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your husband had a very happy birthday!
We are sorry that you had an issue with the temperature of your shower, I can assure you that this has now been rectified.
Phoning or emailing us is always the best way to ensure that you receive the best rate and the room most suitable for your requirements.
We look forward to receiving your call for your next booking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We stayed at this lovely boutique hotel with our 5 year old son in January 2018 & we are already planning a return visit in November! We got everything one may need during a short family trip on a very cold & rainy January day during our trip to Historic Dockyards. Starting with an early check in to a super comfy & warm room with lovely toiletries to a relaxing family dinner at Florence Arms, peaceful sleep in a super quiet room and finishing our stay over a superb breakfast. Location is perfect, hotel is great but it is the friendly Staff that truly makes the stay unique. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ewawoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Ewa, thank you for such lovely comments.
We are very pleased that we were able to provide you with a nice sanctuary on a miserable day! It is great to hear that you enjoyed start to finish of your stay and also that you enjoyed a meal at our Gastro Pub, The Florence Arms.
Your kind words have been passed on to the Somerset House Team and we all look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

My family and I returned to Southsea this year for my 50th Birthday celebrations having previously stayed before at Number Four, and twice at Florence Gardens and knew this would suit all of our requirements. So perfectly situated within walking distance to shops and restaurants and Gunwharf and with an added bonus with the allocated parking permit.
This time around there were 22 of us in our party and so we had 11 bedrooms spread across Somerset and Florence House.
All of our rooms were beautifully decorated and everyone in our party commented on how the beds were so amazingly comfortable.
The staff are really, really fabulous and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts pamper to everyone's 'needs' and the bonus is their pub, Florence Arms which is a stone's throw away!!
There is no doubt we will return. Our stay was so relaxing. Such a beautiful ( Mercer ) collection of boutique hotels. Absolutely perfect! x

Room Tip: It's generally a quiet area.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahburrell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Sarah, thank you for such a lovely review.
It was a pleasure for us to accommodate you and your party on such a special occasion; it is wonderful that you all found your stay comfortable and everybody was able to enjoy a breakfast, we can indeed cater for an array of needs, from gluten free, lactose free and young children to vegans!
We are glad that you also made good use of our Gastro Pub - The Florence Arms, perhaps next time you could visit our Fine Dining restaurant - The Kitchen, as an extra treat!
Your kind comments have been passed onto The Somerset House Team and we all look forward to welcoming you back, remember to call or email us for the best rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews