We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$129
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$127
View deal
Hotels.com
$127
View deal
Travelocity$127
Priceline$129
Hurb$131
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveller rating
613
176
48
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
613
176
48
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit lovely hotel top floor sea front beautiful room comfortable bed mercer collection mercer group stayed for one night enjoyable stay a lovely stay breakfast room full english two night stay min walk following morning gunwharf quays
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 865 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2022 via mobile

Everything was excellent from the location & accommodation to the friendliness and assistance provided by the staff. We stayed in the main building with the breakfast room on the first floor. The food was very tasty with generous portions. The hotel was spotless and the furnishings and bed comfortable. At all times during our two night stay the staff were helpful in suggesting restaurants and places to visit. Definitely would recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lactancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2022

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your generous comments regarding the staff, breakfast and accommodation and we hope to welcome you again if back in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2022 via mobile

This hotel was a bit of a surprise find and would definitely recommend. Amazingly good (included in room rate) breakfasts and very close to the seafront. We booked a family room which was one big double plus a sofa bed that was pulled out, everything very clean. Our two kids shared this. It was very quiet. There was also a small kettle and tea/coffee/uht milk in the room. The bathroom was spacious, plenty of towels and there was shower gel and shampoo provided as well as liquid hand soap.

Parking is included although may be on the road (the hotel will give you a permit). The breakfast was table service with a good selection of full English, eggs royale, etc. Our kids really enjoyed the pancakes with syrup/fruit. There is some outdoor seating for breakfast (if you want to sit outside) which was very nice. We had to give an approx time we’d come down to breakfast each morning. We didn’t eat at the restaurant in the evening just because we didn’t want to commit to being back by a set time, but the menu looked good. Reception recommended booking to eat dinner in advance and last dining slot was fairly early, I think maybe 1915.

The hotel is well located for the seafront and only a 5-10 min walk to the pier and little funfair and old fashioned arcade with 2p push machines etc. we had fish and chips in the restaurant on the pier one night and it was all good. We also ate at the Southsea Beach Cafe which was good too and only a couple minutes past the pier.

Other things to check out nearby include the Canoe Lake and park (good kids playground), D Day Museum, Southsea Castle (free, has a little cafe at bottom), the rock gardens. We caught the number 3 or 23 bus to get up the historic dockyards, the bus stop is on Clarendon Road and it only takes about 10 mins. Get off at The Hard interchange/bus station. This is also the stop for Gun Wharf Quays. Plenty of kid friendly places to eat in Gun Wharf Quay too

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LinzofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2022

We very much appreciate the full review of your stay and your wonderful comments - thank you for taking the time to do this, these reviews are so valuable to small businesses like ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

What a charming hotel. The combination of former houses converted into a collection of boutique hotel blocks is fantastic. Room was immaculate and very comfortable and the staff were so welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

A great range of breakfast options got the day off to a good start with options of eating indoors or in the garden restaurant. A few minutes walk gets you to the beach and there are plenty of dining options in walking distance.

If I'm back in Portsmouth and Southsea, I'll be staying here.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KMcR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2022

Thank you for your kind review - we are so pleased to read you liked the conversion we have undertaken and boutique rooms. We look forward to seeing you again when in Portsmouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2022

The word “quality” applies to the whole experience. We stayed in Room 2 in Somerset House. It was a lovely, large, tastefully decorated room and we were lucky enough to get an off road parking space next to it.

The food was excellent, both the breakfast (I particularly liked the Avocado Smash), and Dinner, which we were lucky enough to be able to have outside in the garden.

My only suggestion would be to make the offering easier to understand on the website. There are several different buildings/rooms to choose from, mostly called Florence something or other, and it took a long phone call with the excellent Ellie, to work out what was best for me. Without her friendly and knowledgable help I couldn’t have done that.

The irony is that after I’d booked I received an email giving me lots of useful information, including a site map, that would have been very useful when booking.

Room tip: Talk to Elle
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank club60W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you after such a long wait thanks to covid delays! It was also lovely talking to you and finding the right room for your needs. We will certainly be taking your comments on board regarding the variety of options to choose from at the hotels and providing additional clarity online.

It's great to hear you enjoyed both Breakfast and dinner at The Garden and your comment regarding "quality" is very kind and appreciated.

We hope we can see you again should you be coming to Portsmouth in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2022 via mobile

The hotel is split over three buildings, but this doesn’t detract. Our room was large and spacious. The only complaint would be a broken tap and shower head in the bathroom which could easily be repaired. Parking is an issue if there’s no spaces in the hotel bays, but you are given a permit so it’s free. Despite my negatives I would probably stay again as it’s so much nicer than the last place we stayed in!

Room tip: Try to grab a parking bay when you get the chance
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ultomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2022

Thank you for your kind review and comments. We are glad you like the spacious room and we have addressed the issues you raised here as soon as we were aware. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews