We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$139
Hotels.com$139
Priceline$140
Travelocity$139
Orbitz.com$139
Hurb$143
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
289
43
21
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
289
43
21
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews florence arms sea front street parking parking permit breakfast was delicious good size fantastic hotel bars and restaurants historic dockyard southsea seafront pub bath wallpaper
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2022 via mobile

We had such a lovely start, our first room was really noise, we was on first floor and the room above sounded like a heard of elephants moving around like they was tripping!
Certainly not the hotels fault but we thought we would mention it… the staff couldn’t do enough we had another room within 5mins, our new room was more lovelier the our first room.
Staff are polite and welcoming! Friendly and kind
Then we went for our breakfast… I loved every mouth. I have OcD and kind of paranoid when it comes to food, sausages wasn’t cheap, bacon was tasty and everything else ticked my boxes. I will be returning

Room tip: Sadly the restaurant stops serving food at 9, I’m a Londoner and not used to this
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank haveahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 August 2022 via mobile

Comprising of four buildings the Florence Gardens is situated not far from the sea front.

There is off-road parking but if you arrive at the weekend prepare to park a fair distance away using the parking pass if the hotel parking is full.

I moved the car on the Monday morning to park in the off road parking

We had a double room, although it was small it was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the room nicely decorated.

The breakfast was excellent, there was a great choice and it was well cooked, using quality ingredients.

The staff were all excellent, all helpful and appeared happy in their work

We walked from here to the Royal Historic Dockyard, it took around an hour to get there, walking along the sea front.

The hotel is not far away there are plenty of quality bars and restaurants

We will book here again

Room tip: Arrive early if possible for parking either at the hotel or on the street
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ikrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 August 2022

Perfect location with a short walk to the seafront, very quiet an nicely furbished room with fantastic garden restaurant and exceptional breakfast, stayed there before and will definitely come back again

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bartoszsP5301NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 June 2022

The Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel is located in a quiet, mostly residential area. It is a short walk to the waterfront, to restaurants and to shops. When we arrived we were lucky to snag the last off-street parking space, otherwise I'm not sure what we would have done because on-street parking seemed to be hard to find. We booked a 'superior room' - it was huge and well furnished. The only amenity we would have liked to add was some AC as it was getting quite warm while we were there. We had dinner outside at their garden restaurant - excellent pizza! Breakfast was also excellent, and we enjoyed having that outside as well. Be advised - there is no lift, so if your luggage is heavy, as ours was, it's quite a slog up to the third floor.

Room tip: Get a lower floor if you have heavy suitcases!
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NKL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reception H, General Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

Many thanks for your kind review, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in Portsmouth and loved the large Superior room. Whilst AC is commonplace in the US it's less so here though we certainly would have been grateful for it with the recent heatwave the UK has experienced.
We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant and outside breakfast space too, a bonus in the summer months.
I'm sorry to hear you struggled with bags, staff are always very happy to assist with luggage though we do also have ground floor rooms if preferred.

We hope to see you if you are back in the UK again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2022 via mobile

Great Stay at this lovely little Boutique hotel. So close to the sea front and a short walk away from some lovely places to eat and drink. The hotel is super clean and super friendly.
The breakfast was one of the best I’d had in a hotel and the service was so friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
Parking can be a challenge in the narrow roads, we got lucky with either a space in the hotel or very close by on the road.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Quest45220097389
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reception H, General Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

Thank you for your delightful review - it was so good to read the breakfast was one of the best you had had in a hotel, thank you so much! We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews