We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is how a hotel should be run. There was plenty of free parking. The front desk staff were friendly and knowledgable. The room was spacious and well kept with plenty of storage space.The bed was comfortable and the room lighting better than many hotels.
The restaurant was outstanding with an interesting menu. The food was well prepared and delicious. The waiters were attentive and very polite. Whoever is responsible for staff training is doing an excellent job.
This is a better hotel and considerably better value than the Marriot next door.
If this is a typical example of Premier Inns I will always choose one whenever I'm in the UK.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    347
    124
    38
    35
See reviews for
351
310
32
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was confused when I arrived (at night) to see 2 locations at opposite sides of the road for Premier Inn, but headed for what looked liked the more likely location.
I found all the hotel staff welcoming and had some local knowledge of the restaurants in the Marina area.
I found the bedroom well appointed. More coat hangers would be nice, and free Wi-Fi access for 30 minutes was helpful, just about enough to read my emails but not enough as a business traveller to complete all tasks. Regarding the room layout, I feel the sink should not be in the room, but form part of the bathroom area.

Had continental breakfast both mornings and the food was very good.

Had an enjoyable stay. However I feel it is somewhat overpriced for this type of hotel. Our company is now very cost concsious in the present economic climate, and needs to carefully monitor its travel spending.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orpington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Eveything as expected , we did find the room quite hot during the night and couldn't fathom out how to turn down the heating. lovely shower ,plenty of hot water, good reading lights. but please tell me, you advertise rooms from £29.00 but each time we have booked they have been
£60.00 plus???

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Does what it should. Easy to find and park. Rooms are big and clean but do have an unusual layout with the sink in your bedroom. Plenty of choice right outside to eat and good friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinion170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Slightly confusing which hotel was the correct one, as there are two PI situated next to each other. I did arrive at the correct hotel. Upon arriving the reception staff were welcoming and friendly. They even took the initiative to ask if I needed to book a taxi, which I did, hence, they booked one for me which meant one less thing for me to worry about before my interview. The room itself was spacious and clean. The only odd design was the sink was located in the room rather than the bathroom, not a major issue for me. The shower was excellent and I had hot water whenever I used it. The room I had was facing a main road which meant it was quite noisy, more than I expected it to be. I wasn’t woken up half way through the night by the noise so personally I can’t complain, although it did take me slightly longer than usual to fall asleep. With regards to the food, it wasn’t anything special. The prices can seem quite steep; however there is a meal deal for £22 which includes buffet breakfast and dinner from a set menu. If you don’t fancy paying this, there is a KFC and Pizza Hut nearby, as well as a Tesco which I believe is open 24 hours. The only issue I had was the remote wasn’t working for the TV; however, this issue was resolved quickly by the staff, when mentioned. In conclusion, there isn’t really anything to complain about and it was a good experience. The only thing I can think of that may be an issue is that my room was facing a main road which meant it was quite noisy, which may affect some people (didn’t bother me enough to ask to change my room, plus it was stated before booking that the hotel was situated near a main road). So if you do stay here and you’re worried about the noise you can always to ask for the rooms not facing the main road which are hopefully quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not facing the main road. Gets quite noisy, although I wasn't woken up h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_V_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.1 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
5.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
5.6 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Address: Binnacle Way, Portsmouth PO6 4FB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,206 - ₹ 7,823
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient spot whether you're catching a ferry down the road or here for the yacht racing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent) Hotel Portsmouth
Tulip Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing