We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,excelent hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location,excelent hotel!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Very good location of the hotel. walking distance to all the brand name shops,to the city center and all the restaurants.High standard service of the hotel and friendly people. Very good staff,very clean rooms,very good service in all the areas of the hotel.I fully recommend it for any kind of holidays any season.

Room Tip: Any room is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenapap19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit, I was delighted to read that you found all aspects of the hotel and the team to be excellent, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team as they mean such a lot to us, it was also great to read that you would recommend us and I trust we will be seeing you again in the near future.
Once again many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    512
    342
    124
    48
See reviews for
225
513
43
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Not sure why others have moaned about this place. All the staff we encountered, and there were 17 of us, were a delight to deal with.
Great location in the centre of the Quay with a myriad of bars and eateries on your doorstep.
At the end fo the day it's a Holiday Inn Express. Never going to be the last word in luxury but fitted the bill perfectly.
One small gripe....the sausages are dire!
Oh ...and the aircon didnt seem to work in any room..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us, I was delighted to read that the hotel 'fitted the bill perfectly' for you and that you found the whole team to be 'a delight to deal with', as with all reviews I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team as they mean such a lot to us. As you say the hotels location is fantastic, right in the heart of Gunwharf Quays with all the bars, restaurants and shops all on the doorstep.
We are currently reviewing the products that we use at breakfast to continue to improve this area so your comments are most appreciated and I will ensure my maintenance manager checks the air conditioning throughout the hotel to make sure this is also functioning correctly, my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused to you during your stay. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The cost of this hotel per night would lead you to believe you are going to an establishment with a little bit of finesse, however it is sadly far from it.

Even arriving was stressful as being our first visit, we didn't know there was no allocated parking area within Gunwharf Quays car park for the hotel, so drove around trying to find one. Once we left the car we ventured towards the hotel, but there are no entrance or welcome signs, so we ended up entering what frankly looks like a staff entrance only to find that is the entrance.

We would not fault its location for being central to bustling Gunwharf Quays, but the rooms are very dated, on par with a shabby Travel Lodge and with very limited facilities. We stayed in room 250 which is a twin room, something we were not advised of when booking in. After what felt like a /4 mile march through lots of doors to the room, we found the room grubby and the bathroom with its cracked sink and shower curtain far from enticing.

We stayed for two nights, but although we would love to visit Portsmouth and Gunwharf Quays area again due to its vibrancy, we won't be staying here. I doubt this will bother the managers at the Holiday Inn Express as it’s constantly fully booked. I am just at a loss as to why.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel, your feedback is really appreciated.
As you have said the hotels location is great, situated on Gunwharf Quays with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 restaurants & bars and attractions such as Spinnaker tower and the historic dockyard all on the hotels doorstep.
Room rates at the hotel do vary depending on the dates you stay with us, there are a number of options available when booking to suit all guests needs and we do offer special promotions from time to time which offer some great discounts.
I apologise that you found your arrival stressful, we do not have allocated spaces in the Gunwharf Quays car park, all hotel guests can park in this car park and receive great discounts on parking charges whilst staying in the hotel, but it is a public car park, the hotel is signposted when you leave the car park and the hotel has the Hall mark Holiday Inn Express entrance, with the Holiday Inn Express logo on the guest entrance & exit doors.
I was disappointed to read that you found the hotel to be shabby and dated, the hotel itself is only 9 years old and we have completed a lot of redecoration work to ensure that the hotel moves with the times, with regard to the room type that was allocated to you, when booking online there are a number of options available to you, should you require a specific room type then it is obviously always better if you book this room type which guarantees the room type you require, there is an option to book a standard room which can be any room type that we have available and would be allocated on arrival.
Unfortunately, all rooms cannot be next to the reception area and certain rooms are obviously further away than others, when booking if you had mentioned that you would like to be closer to reception, the team always do their best to accommodate all our guests requests. We pride ourselves upon the cleanliness of the hotel and I will personally check this room to ensure that it is of the standard required, I will also ensure that my maintenance team replace the sink as soon as possible to avoid any future problems, I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Please be aware that all guests comments are taken seriously and I will continue to work to improve the areas of the hotel that need improving, as you say we are a very busy hotel and the team and myself will continue to work hard to try to make sure that all our guests have a great stay when they stay with us, once again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Wanted to spend a couple of days shopping and relaxing at Gunwharf Quays so was pleased to find an offer for the Holiday Inn Express through O2 Priority Moments. Arrived on Friday morning and parked in the main Gunwharf carpark. The hotel was easy to find although was nearly distracted as you have to go past some of the amazing shops and restaurants! We were too early to check in so we left our luggage and went off to explore. Came back at around 3pm and were checked in by a friendly chap who validated our parking ticket and said the first 24hrs were free and it would be £2/day after that. Our room was a twin on the 1st floor. Hadn't expected much tbh but it was lovely, bigger than average with 2 comfy single beds and a large flatscreen tv. Bathroom was well appointed and there were lots of towels. Having a selection of pillow types was a nice touch and also liked the way the bathroom door could section off the whole bathroom or just the toilet if someone else needed to use the shower/sink. After more shopping and eating we were pleased to collapse into our room and had a good nights sleep with hardly any outside noise. Breakfast was complimentary and had an excellent continental selection along with sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. Overall we were really happy with our stay and will be back for another shopping trip soon !

Room Tip: Rooms looking out over gunwharf may have a better view but apparently can be very noisy. Ours was at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel following your recent stay with us, I was delighted to read that you had a lovely weekend stay with us, as you say we are ideally situated for a weekend of shopping and eating out, Gunwharf Quays has over 95 retail outlets and over 25 restaurants and bars on the complex which are all on our doorstep.
Great to read that you found the parking arrangements to be easy and you had no problem in finding the hotel from the car park, although it sounds like temptation nearly got the better of you on your way!! All hotel guests receive discounted parking in the Gunwharf Quays award winning underground car park, it is free for the first 24 hours or exit and is only £2 per exit or per 24 hours thereafter whilst staying in the hotel.
It was fantastic to read that the room itself exceeded your expectations and you had a great nights sleep, all rooms are fitted with triple glazed windows so external noise levels should be minimal. I was especially pleased that you enjoyed our free breakfast, we have been working hard to improve our breakfast offering, so it was great to read that you found the continental selection to be excellent and as a Holiday Inn Express Hotel we offer scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans as a hot choice.
Once again many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and for leaving a handy room tip, I am sure future visitors will find this useful, we look forward to seeing you again soon for your next shopping trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Nice friendly hotel staff , clean room and a perfect location . Situated in gunwharf quays with its many bars , clubs , casino and shops etc.
Only a 5 - 10 minute walk to Portsmouth harbour rail station and the gosport ferry.
I have stayed here twice now and would most certainly again, I arrived before the 2pm check in time and there was no problem checking into my room early with no charge.
The breakfast is always nice and fresh in my experience although bacon and fried eggs would be a welcome addition to Thr sausages and scrambled egg on offer

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossjh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel, your comments are really appreciated. It was great to read that you have stayed with us a couple of times now and have found the team to be friendly during your stays, the rooms to be clean and as you say our location is perfect, situated on Gunwharf Quays with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 restaurants & bars, a number of attractions such as Spinnaker tower & the historic dockyard and the transport links all on the hotels doorstep.
Standard check in time is 2pm, but we do try our best, should guests arrive early to get them checked in as quickly as possible, It was pleasing to read that you found breakfast to be nice and fresh, we have been working hard to improve our breakfast offering so it is great to hear that, unfortunately as a Holiday Inn Express hotel we do not offer bacon or fried eggs, our free breakfast is a continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans.
Once again many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and I trust we will be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
997 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
743 reviews
0.5 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 39 in Portsmouth
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,507 - ₹ 14,601
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing