We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and very 'disabled-friendly'!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We had planned to stay at another well-rated hotel nearby, until one of us broke an ankle and needed a 'stairs-free' vacation.

Despite a bland exterior, this well-staffed and -equipped hotel filled the bill in every respect, except perhaps for price and limited vehicle parking (able-bodied drivers frequently invaded the disabled bays!).

The rooms were very neat and well serviced, and the restaurant and bar were large and pleasant: there is also a Spa which we didn't feel able to visit.

ALL-IN-ALL:the Best Hotel stay we've experienced recently, anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the lifts, and ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capitalstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review and comments. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our services were in sync with your needs and expectations. Thank you once again and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Portsmouth soon, kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 864 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

As you pull up outside you just know that the inside is going to be as tired as the outside looks. I arrived at reception to check in at 13.50, only to have the receptionist growl at me that check-in wasn't until 2pm. When I pointed out that was only 10 minutes she told me the room was ready anyway! The room itself was an executive room, it had a great view out to sea and a comfortable bed. That's about the extent of the plus points. The carpet is old and badly stained, the curtains are shabby, the mirrors and glasses were all smeary, the bathroom floor was covered in bits, The slippers didn't exist and the bathroom is the smallest I have ever encountered in a hotel. It is not possible to move about without banging into the toilet. Even the door only misses it by about an inch. As for the bath.....well it can't really be called a bath, so pathetically small and of no use as a bath whatsoever. If this was an executive room then god only knows what a standard room must be like. All in all, a disappointing stay. £120 room only is awful value for a hotel of this low standard. The location is great, but you have to think the premier inn across the road would be much better value and quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea. Looking out of the window makes the room seem a little more pleasant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback Andy C. I am truly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I can assure you that we have taken your thoughts and comments on board so that we can continually improve all aspects of our hotel services. kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Good location, short walk to the seaside (Clarence Pier - I wouldn't bother) and probably 15/20 minutes to Gunwharf Quay.

Nice common areas, didnt try the pool but looked OK
Good front of house staff, bit chaotic restaurant staff

Our room (standard double) was very small but the bed was comfortable and generally quiet (for some reason they have music blasting out by the entrance - but this goes off at 11pm)
The bathroom very small (ie dont open the door if someone is on the loo!)
Water temperature was good, show height too low (but then again most of these over the bath type usually are for me). Bath was a 2/3 type - so dont expect to lie out!

Breakfast was OK, (buffet with cereals, fruit and hot). One problem with buffets is alot of the food was tepid. Also we turned up too late for pastrys (9am on a Sunday!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimBushell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback, it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Portsmouth, I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Picking a hotel in Portsmouth/Southsea, having never been to the area before was something of a lottery and in the Holiday Inn we think we did as well as we could have hoped.

The location could hardly be better; within the proverbial stone's throw of the sea (we had a room on the front giving us a view across to the Solent - and the rather grotty Clarence Pier), an easy walk to Gunwharf Quays & the touristy stuff, and several really good pubs dotted around.

The hotel itself was rather bland and souless, but in a good way that you'd expect of a large chain. The staff we encountered were without exception friendly & helpful and the place was spotless.

Didn't have time to try out the pool but the quick look we had it seemed a bit small?

Perhaps the biggest selling point of the Holiday Inn - which they don't seem to shout about - is the ample free parking. In picking the hotel for this weekend break, that seemed in short supply with the rest of the chain hotels in the area (and some of the independents too).

Would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derby_Dave_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your very kind words, I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. It is always such a great motivator to the team to hear of our guests enjoyment and I thank you for taking the time to share this. kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Speedy check in and out and good view from our 6th floor room. The staff were friendly and tried hard, the room was clean but lacking in individuality You may as well save your money and go to the Premier Inn across the road, where we have stayed in the past with a view over the sea. For a better room go to the Queens further along similar price but large seafront room and bathroom. We stayed here as it was so convenient for my husbands meeting and I had a lovely mooch around Southsea's John Lewis store before a walk in the January sun along the front and a welcome cup of coffee at Mozzerella Joe's [very friendly].
Breakfast was okay like the Queens don't bother with the onsite restaurant at the PREMIER but dinner [too cold to venture out and I felt unwell] was a real let down . Nothing on the menu to tempt me several items not available . Husband's steak ok but he had to wait for side of cauliflower cheese some 5 mins and when it came very watery .
Have to pay extra for Internet. Bathroom very small.

Room Tip: Lots of other boutique type hotels to try as well as 2 I mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read you felt the rooms were clean, and you experienced good service from the reception. Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
6.4 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,564 reviews
1.9 km away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.3 km away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 39 in Portsmouth
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: ₹ 6,615 - ₹ 14,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing