We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location, friendly and comfortable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortitude Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fortitude Cottage
Ranked #6 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, friendly and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Fortitude cottage is a lovely old townhouse in a fabulous location. The room we were given had views across to Gun Wharf and the Spinnaker tower. There are lots of good pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance and the Isle of Wight ferry is right on the doorstep.

The room was very clean and well maintained and the bed was very comfortable indeed. The bathroom was on the small side but we felt this was to be expected in this style of house. Maggie and Mike, who run Fortitude Cottage, were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is served in a first floor room with a huge bay window that again looks over the harbour. Breakfast was very nice... particularly the bacon!

Parking in this area of Portsmouth is never easy so we were delighted that Fortitude Cottage provide parking permits for the small car park that is directly opposite.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fortitude Cottage and would have no hesitation in recommeding it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    42
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
256
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in one of the newly created harbour view rooms, I picked the smaller of the 2 at £95 per night. When I poked my nose round the door of the adjacent larger room (it was empty) I wish I’d paid the extra £10. Our room wasn’t really small but the other one was huge.

Booking procedure was professional and done online, received a confirmation email and then a reminder email. Also received a thank you for staying email too.

Parking easy on street or small car park opposite and was given a free ticket, easy flat 10-15 mins walk to Gunwharf Quays shops, restaurants and bars. Nice pubs few doors down.

Would suggest bathroom fan needs a bit more oomph as bathroom remained steamy for rather long time and I had to leave the lights on (fan wasn’t on a timer and there wasn’t a window)

Bed was a little softer than we prefer but nice quality bed linen and really nice furniture. Did hear slight noise from the ferry’s overnight. In the summer you would need to use the air con, with the window open the boat engines could disturb your sleep.

Free wifi in the room but the connection wasn't that strong so went to the pub and used theirs instead. Good TV reception was was a nice surprise as in so many places there are hardly any channels!

Breakfast was to a good standard (no beans though), breakfast room was light and cheerful and not too crowded. Would have been nice to have been offered extra toast when our cooked breakfast arrived though - we were hungry!!!

We would come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in Feb 2012. We travel regularly and this is one of the nicest places we have stayed. The room was spotless and the bed very comfy. We chose the 'penthouse' room which is on the top floor. It is definately worth the few extra pennies, as you get a private balcony and steps up to a roof terrace with stunning views across Portsmouth. The hotel is only a short walk from the new Gunwharf keys with good shops, bars and restaurants. Mike and Maggie were perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. I would highly recommend staying here and hope we can visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse, it's fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london_blue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Ths hotel is fab 10 min slow walk to all restrants and shops half a min walk for two great pubs. the breakfast room was really great lots of choice and very clean. we stayed for one night but would devently return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian1newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our visit to Portsmouth. The location was perfect with beautiful views of the water and Spinnaker Tower. There were some nice pubs nearby, and the walk to Gunwharf Quays took about 10 minutes. We booked the penthouse room, which included access to the rooftop deck with really nice views of the harbor. The bed was comfortable, and the bedroom and bathroom were very clean and modern. Breakfast was delicious and Maggie and Mike were wonderful hosts. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Penthouse room has a spiral staircase leading to a rooftop deck with views of the harbor and Spinnak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
2.2 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,083 reviews
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
611 reviews
0.8 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
374 reviews
2.3 km away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Property: Fortitude Cottage
Address: 51 Broad Street | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,388 - ₹ 12,434
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing