We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveller rating
232
360
203
62
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
360
203
62
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gunwharf quays superior room small pool naval base limited parking gun wharf hms victory parking space buffet style spinnaker tower bed was comfortable full english breakfast was excellent would stay again tea and coffee free parking car park
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Let’s start with the positives. My room was clean & quiet, complimentary water & wifi and the staff were all very friendly and efficient. That’s it for the positives.
Now for the negatives. Overpriced, heated like an old people’s home (which it resembled), awful coffee, poor conference facilities, uncomfortable bed, shabby/ tired appearance and the floor I stayed on smelt of vinegar!
I will not be staying here again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank NHK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi there, thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Royal Maritime Club and found the décor less than satisfactory. However, we are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment which we look forward to completing in the coming months. We do hope that you will revisit us once we have completed this.

We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and efficient and we will ensure that we will pass on this positive feedback.

Kind thanks, The Royal Maritime Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

If you have been away at sea for months this hotel may offer you some degree of comfort- however, if you are expecting basic, modern standards offered by most business hotels then you will be disappointed. It is extremely outdated and unfortunately does not have charm to compensate. It seemed to serve as a day centre for elderly non-residents and was reminiscent of an RVS hospital cafe and working men’s club. There is a serving hatch in the atrium selling tea and coffee from urns.
Conference facilities were basic. Plenty of plug sockets being the highlight.
The front of house staff were very pleasant and attentive with an efficient check in and check out process. Greeting at breakfast was pleasant.
Cleaning standards were poor in room. Stains on bedding. Tea spills hadn’t been wiped up around kettle. Skid mark in loo. This was inexcusable and whilst I can accept the hotel may be being gradually given a long overdue refurb it was embarrassingly poor cleaning.
Bed was comfortable. Towels plentiful. Complimentary mineral water was a nice touch. Loads of tea and instant coffee much appreciated. It was quiet and warm and I slept well. Shower was old but hot and reasonable power.
Breakfast was acceptable but small plates, and the coffee was awful and from a flask/urn.
Regularly business travellers will expect more and at c£120 this place is unreasonably priced. There is nothing Royal about this hotel. Sorry - next time I will stay at the cheaper and more modern options at Gunwharf Quays!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank IanT1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Ian, thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We appreciate all feedback and aim to take on board the points made. We apologise for the cleanliness of your room and can assure you that this is not standard practice at the Royal Maritime Club. We will pass on your notes to housekeeping as a priority to assure that this will not happen again.

You are correct that we are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment which we look forward to completing in the coming months, and we do hope that you revisit us once we have completed our refurbishment.

Finally, we are pleased that you found our staff pleasant and attentive and we will ensure to pass on this positive feedback.

Kind regards, The Royal Maritime Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Arrived on a Sunday evening to a little sleepy atmosphere however from Monday morning onwards the service and everything else was very good. I would particularly like to mention the standard of food at both breakfast and dinner was not to be faulted. He bedroom was warm and bright and very comfortable. Would certainly stay again and would recommend

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you Heather for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We booked a room here because of it is close to the Mary Rose and the Dockyard. (Very) bit dated decor but spotless and well staffed. We had booked a superior room at £130 per night including breakfast. We were delighted to be upgraded on arrival to an "Executive Suite" all fine till we went to breakfast. The breakfast was well laid out and all hot. Unfortunately the quality of the produce fell way short of a room at £130 . The sausage was basically meat paste, the eggs were crisped to a frazzle, the hash browns were just the frozen ones. Fried bread laying in oil. The bacon was cheap and rubbery.
The baked beans were obviously from a cheap catering tin. The coffee was awful, again probably a catering brand X . At around £8 I suppose it's all one could expect. Worst we have ever been offered. Won't be back . Wouldn't recommend.
Graham mitchell
Room 107

Room Tip: Only saw the executive suite. Good size room ,big bathroom bath and shower.R107
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank _grahammitchell100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Graham. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your breakfast (which is often highly praised by the majority of our guests). We pride ourselves on providing a good quality cooked breakfast, for example, our sausages are sourced from our local butchers but will pass on your feedback to the kitchen team so they are aware of your feedback. We do hope you will try our hotel again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

This was the worst hotel room I’ve ever stayed in - I had to ask them to change the original one which was even worse! How do they get away with it in 2018? Really disappointing. I chose this hotel as I needed to be near the station. Never again!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank KateRLSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, Manager at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Kate. We are sad to hear that you were disappointed in your stay at the Royal Maritime Club. We are currently undergoing a major refurbishment and are working towards all of our rooms being updated to a high standard. In the meantime, guests can request one of our newer rooms over the phone when booking and, as long as they are available, we'll do our best to get them in there. We do hope you will try us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews