We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Completely perfect couple getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sweetslade

Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows The spacious open-plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows
The spacious open-plan living area
The light & sunny dining area
The large bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Sweetslade seen from the south with sunny seating area
The living area with woodburning stove and flat screen HD TV
Lovely views from the living room
The well-equipped & stylish kitchen area
The well-equiped & stylish kitchen area
Wake up to a view of the open countryside
The spacious bedroom with king size bed, and open staircase to the ground floor
A luxurious en-suite bathroom
The bedroom features a stunning south-east facing gable window
A view of Sweetslade from the footpath
A short walk from the door to the bluebell woods
The footpath from Sweetslade to the village & pub
A view of Rockbourne village
A view of Rockbourne village
The Rose and Thistle pub in Rockbourne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jazzahlee
1 review
“Completely perfect couple getaway!”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a a wonderful surprise birthday weekend here, just got back todayand feel like a few days was nowhere near long enough. Robert was waiting to welcome in and talk us through when we arrived. Facilities were done to a very high standard and the photos don't do it justice. Honestly have nothing bad to say, we will be back within the year! Would definitely recommend. Thank you so much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I'll look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
2 reviews
“Beautiful property in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My partner and I spent 3 days over Christmas at Sweetslade and were delighted with the property and its surroundings. The property was in an immaculate condition and the owner has thought of everything you would need, which came in very handy for us when cooking our Christmas dinner. The log burner is a really nice touch although the property is very warm and has storage heaters it was nice to have the log burner going in the evenings.
Rockbourne itself is a very picturesque village and the local people we met were very friendly. We would highly recommend the Rose and Thistle which is a 15-20 minute walk up the main road, we ate there twice during our stay and the food was amazing. The new Landlord was very friendly and although he has only been at the pub for a few weeks the information he gave us about the area was very interesting and the service was fantastic. There are plenty of walks which can be accessed via a pathway at the side of the property taking you round to Whitsbury or through to Fordingbridge. We would highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a quiet relaxing break and a romantic getaway. We will never forget our stay here as we got engaged on Christmas Day and when we get the opportunity we would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall look of the property, modern but very cosy!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Congratulations on your engagement you know where to come for your anniversaries now !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review have sorted those pesky wasps out now thanks for the tip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
derkaiser...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home for quiet break away”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Sweetslade is the ideal holiday home for those looking to going away with a break in the New Forest. Beautifully furnished, the property is located in the peaceful village of Rockbourne.

Within the New Forest boundary and 20 miles away from Bournemouth, Sweetslade is ideally located to cater for different activities.

The owner Robert couldn't have been more helpful with his advice and tips and we certainly look forward to returning in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review hugely appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My Wife & I have just returned from a 5 night break at Sweetslade.
On arrival we were met by Robert who gave us a guided tour of his delightful detached property and all it's amenities.
Our host was an absolute charming gentleman, nothing was to much trouble for him.
The property is stunning in every detail. The finish is superb and the position perfect for a utterly relaxing break.
It is a perfect place to recharge your batteries.If your thinking of booking this property, book now, you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - Especially the Wood Burner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thank you for your very kind review hopefully you will both be back this way sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing