We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would recommend this to friends for a friendly...”

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill R
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would recommend this to friends for a friendly and peaceful place”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Last minute decision to escape over Christmas!! Julie couldn't of been more helpful and obliging during the booking and Simon was very welcoming and helpful when we finally arrived. The Stables was clean, warm and served us very well for the short break we had there. Despite the weather being not its best we managed to get to both Bournemouth and Southampton and find our way to some lovely villages. We would highly recommend this as one of our favourite places to stay. We will be back for a longer stay next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of booking and good friendly people
Liked least: lack of wi fi would hinder longer stays
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Thank you. that's really nice of you. See you soon. Take care. Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a fantastic 4 night stay at The Stables. Julie and Simon were very welcoming and had many helpful suggestions about the local area including walks, pubs and restaurants. It is wonderful to find such lovely dog friendly lodgings and in such a great location. We will definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miettemeg
England
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
“Great location and very comfortable”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Excellent accommodation and location, very quiet. It is quite an adventure to get to The Stables on a rainy day but we made it!
Simon and Julie were really friendly and gave us all the information we needed for our short stay. From the outside the accommodation looks like a big shed, but don't let this put you off as inside it's great. Nice, clean, comfortable and very warm - even when the heating is off.
There was everything we needed in the small kitchen but with such nice pubs in the area we didn't do much cooking... it was a holiday after all!
We would definitely consider going back to The Stables for another visit to the New Forest.
Thank you for a great stay and sorry we forgot to sign the visitor's book. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and cosy, excellent location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytonman
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Julie and Simon are wonderful hosts. The cottage is very comfortable and cosy, we soon got used to the visiting chickens and our own two dogs were soon settled in and to be truthful we did not want to come home after our two week stay. The farm shop is only a short distance away with plenty of choice to throw on the bbq. We are definitely returning next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven.”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have been visiting The Stables for the last three years with our dog Jack. We all love staying there. Jack loves the New Forest and the freedom he has. The people we have met while we are there are always very friendly and welcoming. Julie and Simon who own The Stables are real smashers and make our stay such a pleasure. We shall certainly be going back in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Can't think of anything apart from having to return home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing