We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable,cosy and in a lovely village.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brackenwood

Brackenwood, Burley Village, The New Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brackenwood, Burley Village, The New Forest
Courtyard Garden Forest walks start from just outside the gate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Brackenwood, Burley Village, The New Forest
Courtyard Garden
Forest walks start from just outside the gate
Front Garden
Entrance Lobby Room
Downstairs Cloakroom
Lounge / Diner
Lounge / Diner
Kitchen
Exterior Utility Room - with dog showering facility
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom can be converted to kingsize if preferred
Bathroom has separate corner power shower
Woods opposite Brackenwood
Burley
Burley Village View 1
Burley Village view 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brenda522
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable,cosy and in a lovely village.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very cosy and well equipped, the village was small and busy it was also very laid back. The various shops were quirky and many did not open until 10ish!!, we found the pubs very welcoming and dog friendly. The food in the pubs was very good we had a very good holiday in a lovely area and will definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: busy roads through village
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
I don't think there's much more we can add to that! Thank you for such a lovely review and we're delighted you enjoyed not only Brackenwood but Burley Village and all it's quaintness too. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location in the prettiest village in the heart of the New Forest”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Brackenwood! The house is a two minute walk from the heart of the village which includes several dog-friendly pubs - we frequented The Burley Inn which serves great food for lunch and dinner. Of particular note to dog owners is Brackenwood's fully enclosed and secure rear garden, and that you simply cross the road to find yourself walking in the Forest with the delightful ponies.nearby.
We liked it so much that we look forward to returning later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and fully enclosed and secure garden
Liked least: The power-shower is a bit tired!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am sure that dog owners looking for a break in the New Forest will appreciate your comments on how perfectly situated we are for some great walks. We also have a doggy shower in the utility room so I hope you had a chance to try that out too - makes life so much easier! And... of course we look forward to welcoming you back again later in the year - I see you have already re-booked!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10462015
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

House was very comfortable. Super food at pup and dog friendly. Village shop good.out of the front gate in to the forest lovely for walking the dog. Found the doggy great. We would like to come.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and sounds like your dog enjoyed himself as much as you obviously did! We are lucky to be located where we are - close to the Village with the added advantage of two family and dog friendly pubs whilst having great forest walks from literally outside the gate - which was a good reason, we thought, for adding a dog shower to our facilities - so pleased that was useful to you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryalto
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fan-dabby-dozee !!”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house, comfortable beds, warm and welcoming, well equipped kitchen etc, right in the new forest and yards from a super food and drink pub, good village shops. Would be ideal for dog walkers, straight onto the forest and theres even a doggy shower bath in the utility to wash the doggies on your return (the pub is dog friendly too). Will definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: situation and comfort
Liked least: telly a bit on the small side
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Really pleased you enjoyed your time both at Brackenwood and in the New Forest. Our location is great for both the quaint Village and close by pubs - all with good menus and great attitudes about welcoming dogs and families. Then afterwards as you say we have the open forest literally right on the doorstep! We are very popular with dog owners who feel they can relax because we have the doggy shower! Thank you for reviewing us and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandadau...
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We will certainly be back. Comfortable warm house, lovely location, easy to find and dog friendly. What more could a person want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Too warm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Sounds like you had a great time! Thank you for taking the time to say so and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing