We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Walking Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Blacksmiths Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blacksmiths Cottage
Blacksmiths Lounge Blacksmiths Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Blacksmiths Cottage
Blacksmiths Lounge
Blacksmiths Lounge
dining room
kitchen
Double bedroom 2
Twin Bedroom
en suite top floor bedroom
top floor bedroom
en suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walking Weekend”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent Accommodation.
Six of us and a dog stayed for the long weekend. Property was clean and well equipped. Even though it looks small from the exterior there was plenty of space for us all to spread out.
It was convenient for a number of pubs, the nearest being literally round the corner, so eating out was not a problem.
There is a bus stop just by the property as well as one around the corner which were ideal for us as we were able to walk to Cheltenham and bus back. Also visited Broadway by bus and walked back.
Tips- get the top bedroom
I couldn't see a mention of internet access in the details, but in fact the wireless access was very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah H
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed staying and walking in the cotswolds nearby. The cottage was just what we wanted. Perfect location in Winchcombe and very clean and tidy. Lovely rooms and everything we needed. One parking space by the cottage plus a long stay car park very close which is £1 all day and free overnight. We would definitely recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review. It was a pleasure having you. We offer a10% reduction if you rebook with us just quote your reference.. Thanks again Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttne2015
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Winchcombe wedding week”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked a week over the bank holiday to be on the spot for our son's wedding at Sudeley Castle - Sarah was very obliging to accommodate our dates.
Our extended family group enjoyed a home away from home at Blacksmiths Cottage - comfortable, all mod cons, convenient, friendly neighbours, handy shops
We loved Winchcombe, and the sun shine for the wedding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cooker - electric oven without a fan, electric rings which didn't work with frying pans and sharp corners on the cooker hood ...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad the wedding went well and you had a lovely time.
Regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for a Family Trip”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We rented this cottage over new year 2014 for four adults and two young children. The cottage was perfect for our stay and there was plenty of room for us all.
Upon arrival on a cold day the cottage was warm and welcoming, Sarah had kindly set the central heating for us and we were cosy throughout the stay. There was also milk in the fridge and a bowl of sweeties on the table! There was also a Christmas tree up which was fantastic for us as we were able to put our nieces present's out before they arrived.
All the beds were very comfy and having the two bathrooms was very handy. There is plenty of parking at the front of the cottage as well as the space round the back which was great.
Winchcombe itself is a beautiful village with loads of great amenities. There are food stores including Co-Op within 5 mins walk of the cottage plus a good choice of pubs. We also had a really nice Chinese from a takeaway in the village after finding a menu amongst the information in the cottage.
Overall I highly rate this property. The owner Sarah was very helpful with all our queries and we hope to stay again sometime.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. I am so pleased you had a lovely stay. Happy New Year. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillAndor...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We, (five adults), stayed in this cottage for 3 nights over Easter having booked directly with the owner Sarah, who was very helpful and friendly on the phone. The cottage is in a great location in the village centre and there is a small, well stocked, reasonably priced, Coop supermarket, plus butcher and baker amongst other shops, cafes, pubs etc just a 5 minute walk away. We came prepared with lots of food basics but the owner kindly had already provided some of these in the cottage - tea, coffee, milk, sugar, salt etc. Even a couple of dishwasher tablets and soap etc in bathroom were thoughtfully provided so one didn't have to dash out to get these things.
We found the cottage to be cosy, warm, well equipped with plenty of crockery etc and tastefully furnished. It's not enormous but we thought it was plenty big enough for 5 adults (there are 3 armchairs and a large sofa in the living room) and great to have a separate dining room off the kitchenette and the little patio area outside with a barbecue (we cheated and used an instant BBQ pack from the Coop for our sausages from the village butchers' - delish!).
The entrance is at the back of the house from the private car park (with allocated space) whilst the front faces the lane. The twin bedded room and the top ensuite double face the lane, whereas the double on the first floor faces the back. The lane doesn't have much traffic, as it's just a minor road, so is very quiet and everyone slept well in all three bedrooms.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We buy all our sausages from the butcher too they are delicious. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing