We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic short break in the Cotswolds at Yew Tree...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yew Tree Barn

Offering luxury accommodation for two.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Offering luxury accommodation for two.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Offering luxury accommodation for two.
The country kitchen with shaker units, electric AGA and butler sink.
Spacious kitchen-diner.
The pocket-sprung mattress and crisp white cotton sheets ensure a restful sleep.
Dual-aspect sitting room.
Enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner.
Enjoy alfresco dining for two.
A Grade-II listed Cotswold stone barn.
Yew Tree is a totally unique cottage in a premium location.
The courtyard garden with Box balls surrounded by traditional Cotswold-stone walls.
Holly trees either side of the stable door make a 'festive' welcome.
The sun streams in all day (weather permitting of course).
Located down a private drive behind the walls of a former dairy farm.
River Eye, Upper Slaughter
Upper Slaughter is within a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
The Slaughters, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ross G
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic short break in the Cotswolds at Yew Tree Barn”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Yew Tree Barn, the location was perfect for relaxing, yet not far from all of the main attractions in the Cotswolds. The décor and finishes in the property are to the highest standards, with every cooking implement, to shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom. The information provided on booking was excellent and the owner Sarah is lovely and very welcoming. We sat outside in the courtyard garden having dinner and in the sunshine it was paradise! We will definitely be returning. We may choose to go back in colder months as we are sure that its just as good in the winter as it is in the summer what with the wood burner and underfloor heating. We have recommended the property to family and friends thank you for a wonderful stay x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing you could need was provided
Liked least: Going back to reality!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swilson85
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, idyllic location”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just returned from the perfect romantic getaway at Yew Tree Barn. What a great find this place was, the cottage itself was beautifully decorated, was spotlessly clean and the location was perfect. Both Upper Slaughter and Lower Slaughter are stunning and it was a very peaceful place to stay, it was also a great base for exploring other Cotswolds villages which were all only a short car journey away.
We especially loved the roll top bath, the Aga oven and the window seat in the kitchen. Every little detail had been thought of, including little extras like a picnic basket with a blanket, candles in the bathroom, umbrella by the front door and a shoe rack outside which comes in handy when returning from your country walks. I couldn't fault this place at all, it was just perfect and I didn't want to leave! In fact we extended our stay for an extra night!
The owner Sarah was lovely and very helpful indeed. She responded quickly to all of our messages and had great local knowledge. I'd highly recommend this cottage to anyone, especially couples looking for a romantic getaway. I found it to be great value for money, it was cheaper than the local hotels and it was nice to have our own space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nichola_h...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended !!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

best staycation ever, beautiful cottage decorated and kept to the highest standard. sometimes the pictures make accommodation look better than it is, but with yew tree they dont do it justice. the cottage its self has every thing you can need and more ( i found i packed way to much stuff ) they have board games, picnic hamper, magazines, books, shampoo and conditioner, hair dryer and towels all of which i packed and needn't have bothered. whilst there 4th-7th july the village had a fete and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed this and apart from getting engaged in the cottage this made our stay that little bit more special as the locals made us feel extremely welcome. some tips: stow on the water which is the nearest town is great to go shopping for food to take back lots of lovely delis and butchers etc all selling local produce. though if your looking to eat out Burton on water is far more scenic with some great pubs, tea houses and fine dinning. we did eat out in lower slaughter which is pretty (most romantic street in England) but found the food better in Burton. Burton also has a cute little motor museum and i have to say wasn't that interested in going (but after your man has just surprised you with a sparkly diamond how can you say no?) but i was plesently surprised. it was based around different eras and the rooms themed to these. so not only did it have cars it had every day items from the 50s 60s and 70s on show to, and was a fun afternoon, so would recommend this to anyone even if your not a car enthusiast and it was suitable for all ages. upper slaughter is a great base to tour the Cotswolds nothing to far away, we went all over, and would be a perfect place for walkers, cyclists or anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city like us. utterly romantic and beautiful, and will absolutely be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage itslef and location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location it was absolutely gorgeous.
Liked least: The weather could of been slightly warmer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing