We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend that went exceptionally well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Hare and Hounds over a weekend when it was taken over by a friend's wedding and therefore we got a slightly odd view. We were very impressed by the hotel and had it been a normal weekend break I might well have been awarding five rather than four stars. The hotel looked as though it was the recipient of a recent makeover. It's a big rambling stone building which is probably not quite as old as first glimpse might suggest. Relatively little of it serves the pub function. There is a small bar area and scope for al fresco drinking but most of the main building and the various annexes appear given over to bedrooms, function and dining areas and guest facilities. Outside there is a sizeable lawn, clearly geared up to function photos, and beyond, open Cotswold countryside.

The bedroom was a very stylish, slightly eclectic, mix of the modern [flat screen tv] and traditional [four-poster]. It was furnished in classic style with some striking, rich, colours. It wasn't large but compensation came with the very spacious and well-equipped bathroom plus a walk in cupboard that served as a wardrobe. The added bonus was the fire escape which doubled as a balcony with views over the grounds and surroundings. We slept well but then it had been a demanding occasion.

It's difficult to comment on the food as for the most part it was mass catering for the wedding. I can only say that as wedding catering goes I thought it was pretty good. The breakfast which followed a heavy night was certainly restorative and it was excellent in its scope and quality. The staff were universally helpful, the common areas were comfortable, the bar a modernised version with wine and food as evident as beer.

As I indicated it was a bit difficult assessing what the hotel might be like when operating without a hundred or so wedding guests in situ. One thing is certain the parking would be less chaotic! However the rooms from our experience are excellent and there are signs that the food is probably fine. The location near the National Arboretum and the small old market town of Tetbury is good for visiting the southern Cotswolds. The hotel itself is on a busy road but set back sufficiently for it not to be intrusive although no doubt you could find alternatives in more obviously charming and bucolic settings. If we were looking for a weekend break the positive qualities of the hotel would certainly make it worth considering and as a location for a function it was excellent.

Room Tip: May be better to ask for room at rear. There are bedrooms in converted outbuildings but how they com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

868 - 872 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Lovely grounds in a wonderful location but spoilt by ludicrously high drinks prices and slow, surly service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank GOGWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here on the Sublime Sunday offer, which is excellent value. The room was spacious, the bed was huge and so comfortable. All the facilities we rated highly. Even down to the soap and shower gel supplied. Excellent food and terrific service both at dinner and at breakfast. We were lucky with the weather as it was glorious, but this was made even better in being able to relax in the beautiful hotel gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I had the most amazing stay at the hotel. We booked the special offer a few weeks ago and were so looking forward to a relaxing break as my husband recently had a spell in hospital. We were upgraded to the gamekeepers cottage and were so impressed with the facilities. The rooms are immaculate with attention to detail in the decor and furnishings. The shower room is fabulous and the bath luxurious. The Molten Brown toiletries are the icing on the cake. As for the hot tub... Totally amazing recommend the hotel to everyone looking for that special break.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minkymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

I am glad that you have 'discovered' us, and hope that you will have the opportunity to return in the future. Many thanks for your review, it is very helpful to know that we are pleasing our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Me and my boyfriend came here for a relaxed weekend. We couldn't have asked for me after staying in a suite we had our own living area which made a change as we able to spend a whole afternoon at the hotel and enjoying the room. A fantastic location where in summer you can watch polo matches on the pitch just behind the hotel visit the quaint and beautiful town of tetbury and in the evening treat yourself to the excellent meal in the hotel restaurant where an array of British French style cuisine is served! Our stay was bliss and the staff cannot do enough for you and with beautiful grounds and sunshine we shall go back gain soon and try for the cottage with hot tub!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoopsLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

My staff and I are very pleased that your recent stay with us at the Hare and Hounds was relaxing and enjoyable. This area has a great deal to offer the traveller and we feel lucky to be part of that very special Cotswold scenery. Thank you for letting us know that you had a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
3.9 km away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
412 reviews
4.7 km away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
832 reviews
36.6 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
515 reviews
5.1 km away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
740 reviews
3.9 km away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: ₹ 10,422 - ₹ 21,189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing