We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Night Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Modern, well equipped, good sized separate kitchen with country, retro feel. Looks out across field
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern, well equipped, good sized separate kitchen with country, retro feel. Looks out across field
Perfect for couples or single travellers, all year round (your own front door and level lawn area) Your assurance of quality accommodation: Bobbys Nook has been inspected and awarded 4 Stars by TheAA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Modern, well equipped, good sized separate kitchen with country, retro feel. Looks out across field
Perfect for couples or single travellers, all year round (your own front door and level lawn area)
Your assurance of quality accommodation: Bobbys Nook has been inspected and awarded 4 Stars by TheAA
Enjoy a complementary drink from the welcome pack. Selection teas, coffee (Tassimo pods), milk, bisc
Extra table and chairs in the kitchen; handy for breakfast or a quick snack
Tiled en suite: lovely spacious walk-in shower, heated towel rail, illuminated mirror, shaver point
TV with inbuilt DVD, Radio/CD player. Books, games and maps to borrow.
'Secret Garden' behind the Nook; sun loungers and barbecue also available
Guests love this amazing, ever-changing view from the sofa, towards Forest of Dean and River Severn
Relax in the sunshine and shade in the secluded part of the garden.
Little orchard area next to Bobby's Nook with wild flowers in the Spring sunshine. Sit, relax, enjoy
Views from the field behind Bobby's Nook
View towards the River Severn and the Forest of Dean
Walk the Cotswold Way and many other footpaths straight from Bobby's Nook's front door
Well worth the short climb: the view from the common is unforgettable!
Wonderful summer sunsets over the River Severn and Forest of Dean in the west
Winter landscape; view across fields from the bedroom window at the back of the Nook.
Quirky little clock in the lounge
Original textile artwork:Sunset by HelenMarshallDeans adds to the tranquil atmosphere of the bedroom
Spacious, practical kitchen with large fridge/freezer, ample cupboard storage for your provisions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kaye B
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“5 Night Stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed our 5 night stay @ Nobby's Nook, May 2017.

Prior to our arrival, Gill sent us detailed instructions about directions & local information. Mike welcomed us, as Gill had prior commitments with local council elections. He did a grand job instructing us on the intricacies and features of Nobby's Nook.

Gill had provided a welcome package of 'goodies', a bunch local tulips & provided us with freshly laid eggs from their pet chooks. Wonderful, thank you.

The cottage was furnished as described online. An unexpected bonus was to have central heating.

While Nobby's Nook is in a good location for visiting The Cotswolds, it would be advisable to have a car to easily access the location. Be prepared for narrow Cotswold roads & lanes.

We saw a fox & two squirrels from the cottage window!

We would recommend Nobby's Nook.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you Kaye. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the Cotswold part of your grand tour! Bobby's Nook is situated near Stroud which itself is in the centre of the Five Valleys. The hills and valleys of the Cotswolds are what gives the area its unique beauty and character. The apartment is also very close to the Cotswold Way and many guests, with and without a car find it convenient for walking holidays. There are bus stops just a hundred yards from the front door and a reliable, regular bus service to Stroud and, in the opposite direction to Stonehouse and Gloucester. Stroud railway station is on the mainline to London Paddington, with frequent direct trains, and consequently we welcome many guests from the capital. Some guests choose to walk to Bobby's Nook from Stroud (2.7 miles) whilst others catch a bus from Merrywalks or take a taxi from the station. Bobby's Nook is also located close to major road networks, including the M5 and it is possible to visit many places in the Cotswolds and beyond very easily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Compact well equipped. Good base for a walking /sightseeing holiday”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The place is small but really well equipped. Decoration excellent and clean and compact. Very comfortable. No problems except with the hoover when I was trying to clean up at the end. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The area is lovely. Tiny steep roads and hills. Lots of walks and pretty quaint little villages to look round. Good view from the place. I bit difficult to find, but the owner was very helpful with perfect directions. Sainsburys is just round the corner for your shopping. I think you would need a car. There were valentines treats (chocolates wine biscuits fresh free range eggs coffee tea) Easy to control the temperature.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you had problems with the vacuum cleaner and thank you for your efforts to leave the apartment so clean and tidy, however, as mentioned in the information at the property, I really do not expect guests to hoover. I very much appreciate if the washing up is done and put away (there is a dishwasher) and that the kitchen surfaces are wiped clean of food.
Many of our guests stay without a car and have found the hourly (approx) local bus service to be very convenient. A lot of guests arrive in nearby Stroud by train (direct trains from London Paddington) and either walk, bus or taxi to Bobby’s Nook. As mentioned, the area is particularly good for walking holidays; the apartment is a few hundred yards from the Cotswold Way Selsley Circuit (splendid views and industrial heritage) and the neighbourhood is crisscrossed with public footpaths.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
Humble
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and attention to detail”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved staying at Bobby's nook. Gil has done a wonderful job putting together information for visiting the Cotswolds, and she has attended to lots of little details in the "nook" itself. The bathroom is brand new and there is lots of space in the living area to use computer, watch tv or just relax. The only thing I would change about this wonderful little retreat is to have her put in a king size, and one that is a little more comfortable (the one there is supportive double, but quite hard). That being said, we would not hesitate to return for another stay if we are in the Cotswolds again. Gil is a wonderful hostess.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location and proprietor
Liked least: bed size and hardness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review Carol; we were really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bobby's Nook.

We installed a brand new orthopaedic mattress in response to a review that the bed was not supportive enough! Beds are such a personal thing but we chose a normal double size to be in proportion to the size of the bedroom which is a quiet, restful room with a blackout blind that has been a great hit with many of our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W
Burton on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Fantastic all-round”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Spotlessly clean, stunningly well equipped, very light and airy and in a superb location with magnificent views and sunsets! We self cater quite a bit and Bobby's Nook is right at the top of the list of our favourite places to stay. Gill and Mike were so friendly and welcoming and we hope we can find another excuse to go and stay in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower, dishwasher, the views,
Liked least: I have a back problem so would have appreciated bathroom storage on a higher shelf or cabinet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thank you so much for your review - we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope...
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Bobby's Nook is just wonderful. Gill and Mike have been so thoughtful in providing everything for a perfect stay: a welcome tray of refreshments and vase of flowers to greet us, warmth and comfort, a spotless and well equipped kitchen, Wi-fi and TV, the best walk-in shower ever, comprehensive files of information, friendly help and advice when asked for - and all this in a beautiful location, peaceful and quiet, with easy on-site parking and an amazing view across the Severn Vale to the estuary and beyond. Whether you want to walk or drive, Selsley is a great centre from which to explore. With Sainsbury's less than a mile away (though a steep climb back if you have no car) and the nearby Bell Inn for delicious meals (Sunday lunch especially recommended), self-catering was no problem. We had such a happy week there. Hope I can come back again!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing