We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
376
71
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
71
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary mini bar aromatherapy toiletries bunk beds aromatherapy associates nespresso machine overlooking the square attention to detail dab radio house room fresh milk boutique hotel high standard through secret escapes free standing bath pizza oven rain shower little touches
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a three course dinner at The Old Stocks Inn. All three courses were delicious, and beautifully presented. The service and ambience/decor was also excellent. I would highly recommend, and would love to come back!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tripping742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte T, General Manager at The Old Stocks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a lovely review.

Come and see us again sometime!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Tuck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break. Loved how small and cosy the room was. Loved the slanting floor, small windows, awesome rainfall shower and unpainted beams.

Welcome and wonderful surprises were the complimentary drinks in the fridge, the smart tv allowing us to watch Netflix in the bad weather and the complimentary free welcome drinks.

Some things that bothered us but weren’t bad enough to complain about were; the firm bed and hard lumpy pillows (in our opinion) - we like soft beds and soft pillows so I know this is just personal preference but did affect our sleeping comfort, the lack of information about how to get to the car park around the back, as well as it’s got a lot of dips/holes so if we had taken our own car (we borrowed our parents car) then we could have possibly split the front bumper getting in and out of the small lane because of the dips. Perhaps the holes just need filling with more gravel or at least some information provided to guests prior to staying about what to expect with that.

The hotel is lovely and small, with the perfect mix of old historical charm and modern touches. Very clean and has very nice attentive polite staff. The breakfast had a good variety too.

The village has plenty of places to eat and drink and nice to walk around but is small and we found venturing out for walks to other villages difficult (got lost!) and the bus seemed to only run every two hours so I would also recommend driving to other villages if you want to see more of the Cotswolds.

Overall, we have really enjoyed our stay- thank you! If we ever visit the Cotswolds again we will be back and will highly recommend staying here :-)

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TwinkleMcSprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte T, General Manager at The Old Stocks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a lovely review.

The address some of the concerns you had regarding the approach to our car park- as the road is un-adopted, it falls to the residents and businesses using the lane to look after and surface it.
It has been a process of agreeing with everyone responsible for the lane to move forward with the works and so you will find if you are to return, we have those pot holes addressed.

Come and see us again sometime!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Tuck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here two nights with my wife on a quick England vacation. A very charming place with helpful staff, including Charlotte who checked us in the first day.
Pluses:
A very nice room and comfortable queen bed.
Plenty of places to eat within short walking distance.
A good breakfast was included with our reservation since we booked directly with the hotel.
Filtered and bubbly water on tap in the bar, we learned to help ourselves.
Parking behind the hotel was very convenient.
A good dinner at the hotel restaurant, the beet starter was especially good.

Minus:
They had directions printed for walks to nearby villages, but the directions weren’t the best, had a ten mile all day walk planned but returned after four miles because we couldn’t follow the directions. Drove to the venues which was fine, maybe better than walking.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hoppers33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte T, General Manager at The Old Stocks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a lovely review.

Come and see us again sometime!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Tuck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked for a dinner party of 17. A last minute booking for 17 guests, all with different menu requests. From arrival to departure and everything in-between was handled expertly. We found ourselves in the PDR which was perfect and exceeded our expectations. Food arrived at table quickly and efficiently, none of that uncomfortable waiting ages for your neighbours food to arrive. My choices were delicious and filling. The Bar has a lovely atmosphere altogether a real treat. Thank you to all the staff Pete and his team for ensuring we had a memorable and enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte T, General Manager at The Old Stocks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a lovely review.

Come and see us again sometime!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Tuck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Unrivalled Hospitality, just perfect couldn’t ask for better
Room was incredible so comfortable clean and welcoming
A great variety of food to cover all tastes
A beautiful village atmosphere, friendly and informative
Perfect place to relax, would certainly recommend abiding and stay at the Ghost

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Highlander713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte T, General Manager at The Old Stocks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a lovely review.

Come and see us again sometime!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Tuck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews