We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
376
71
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
71
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary mini bar aromatherapy toiletries bunk beds aromatherapy associates nespresso machine overlooking the square attention to detail dab radio house room fresh milk boutique hotel high standard through secret escapes free standing bath pizza oven rain shower little touches
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here two nights with my wife on a quick England vacation. A very charming place with helpful staff, including Charlotte who checked us in the first day.
Pluses:
A very nice room and comfortable queen bed.
Plenty of places to eat within short walking distance.
A good breakfast was included with our reservation since we booked directly with the hotel.
Filtered and bubbly water on tap in the bar, we learned to help ourselves.
Parking behind the hotel was very convenient.
A good dinner at the hotel restaurant, the beet starter was especially good.

Minus:
They had directions printed for walks to nearby villages, but the directions weren’t the best, had a ten mile all day walk planned but returned after four miles because we couldn’t follow the directions. Drove to the venues which was fine, maybe better than walking.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hoppers33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte T, General Manager at The Old Stocks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a lovely review.

Come and see us again sometime!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Tuck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked for a dinner party of 17. A last minute booking for 17 guests, all with different menu requests. From arrival to departure and everything in-between was handled expertly. We found ourselves in the PDR which was perfect and exceeded our expectations. Food arrived at table quickly and efficiently, none of that uncomfortable waiting ages for your neighbours food to arrive. My choices were delicious and filling. The Bar has a lovely atmosphere altogether a real treat. Thank you to all the staff Pete and his team for ensuring we had a memorable and enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte T, General Manager at The Old Stocks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a lovely review.

Come and see us again sometime!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Tuck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Unrivalled Hospitality, just perfect couldn’t ask for better
Room was incredible so comfortable clean and welcoming
A great variety of food to cover all tastes
A beautiful village atmosphere, friendly and informative
Perfect place to relax, would certainly recommend abiding and stay at the Ghost

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Highlander713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte T, General Manager at The Old Stocks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a lovely review.

Come and see us again sometime!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Tuck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

This was (as you can see from the title) my favorite hotel from our entire 16 day trip! It was adorable decorated and very inviting. The rooms were gorgeous, clean, comfortable, cutely and modernly decorated and very large. It is worth the added price to stay there as it’s a bit more money than others but you can’t get any better!! Peter who greeted us and we saw every night working in the restaurant and bar was awesome! Friendly, funny and great recommendations. Sean the bartender made the best drinks of our trip and the cheese puffs are delicious! It was the perfect bar for a nightly drink before dinner. The food too!! I had the salmon starter and celeriac meal (twice because it was all so good). It’s a great home base in the Cotswolds and conveniently located. Also there is a church in Stow that has a door which served as Tolkien’s inspiration for the door to middle earth! It was a great stay!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank alexandrapA6881EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We loved everything about our 2 night stay, we just wished we could have stayed longer!
The hotel was definitely designed with the comfort of the guest in mind, sadly this is lacking in so many other hotels.
We loved our room, 14, which is one of the smaller rooms but that didn't matter. We had everything we needed and more.
And it was so quiet making for the perfect night's sleep.
Breakfast was 5 star, we probably ate too much both mornings!
Stow on the Wold is the perfect base to explore the Cotswolds and with everything needed for a holiday on your doorstep.
Our favourite village/town was Chipping Campden but everywhere you go in the area is a delight.
We'll hopefully be back!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews