We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Spot in the Cotswolds”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Park House Cottage

Park House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Park House Cottage
Front door to Park House and Cottage Garden walk from street to The Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Park House Cottage
Front door to Park House and Cottage
Garden walk from street to The Cottage
Garden view of The Cottage
Garden view of The Cottage
Dining area for four with French doors opening into the garden
Large living room with log burner and central heating
French doors to the garden from the dining area
Italian designer kitchen with ceramic Hob, gas cooker, dish washer, wine cooler and fridge freezer
Kitchen area with window to garden
Cosy log burner
New oak staircase to bedrooms
Stairs to bedrooms and Italian designer kitchen
View from sitting room
Sitting room with log burner
Sitting room windows to garden terrace
Comfortable seating and central heating
Modern large Panasonic TV, VHS tape and DVD player
Bedroom 1 with very comfortable king-size double bed, luxury bedding and ensuite shower room
Bedroom 1 with very comfortable king-size double bed, luxury bedding and ensuite shower room
Bedroom 1 with very comfortable king-size double bed, luxury bedding and ensuite shower room
Bedroom 1 with very comfortable king-size double bed, luxury bedding and ensuite shower room
Bedroom 1 ensuite shower  room with high quality fixtures
Bedroom 1 ensuite shower  room with high quality fixtures
Bedroom 1 ensuite shower  room with high quality fixtures inc a heated towel rail
Bedroom 1 ensuite shower  room with Aqualiser shower
Bedroom 2 with two very comfortable single beds, luxury bedding and ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 2 with two very comfortable single beds, luxury bedding and ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 2 with two very comfortable single beds, luxury bedding and ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 2 with two very comfortable single beds, luxury bedding and ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 2 - towels for each guest
Bedroom 2 ensuite bathroom with high quality fixtures
Bedroom 2 ensuite bathroom with high quality fixtures
Bedroom 2 ensuite bathroom with high quality fixtures inc a heated towel rail
View from balcony to garden
Garden view of Cottage
Garden view of Cottage
View from The Cottage balcony
Cottage garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Asmaradan...
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an absolutely LOVELY time in Park House Cottage at the beginning of July. My husband, my sister, and I enjoyed just about everything about it. Sweet cottage, comfortable beds, well-equipped kitchen, gorgeous garden, and a super friendly cat on the grounds (a huge plus for three people missing their kitties). And the location is wonderful too -- on the main street in Stow, just steps away from a whole array of great places to eat, drink, or buy groceries. Stow itself is in a great location -- several nice walks straight out from the town, and easy driving distance to others. I was at first worried about the spiral stair in the cottage, as I can be clumsy, but no problems there either (Jenny gave very good advice about bringing in our luggage by the outside stair). We found the two different stove tops a bit odd and would have preferred having a washing machine rather than a dishwasher, but we found a fine laundromat in Moreton on Marsh (which gave us an excuse for a jaunt there). All in all, a great stay and we'd go back in a heartbeat. Thank you, Nick and Jenny! (And hugs to Sooty Puss Puss!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sooty Puss Puss!
Liked least: flat-panel stovetop.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy V
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed much longer”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Like a previous poster, I spent a considerable amount of time researching cottages before our trip. My family all weighed in with their requirements: we needed cosy but high-end, within walking distance of pubs, coffee and book-shops, easy access to good country walks, quiet and secluded, two bedrooms and two bathrooms, and casement windows that could be opened to overlook a garden. Park House Cottage met all the criteria and more. My son, walking up to the cottage for the first time, whispered "This is so perfect, I think I'm going to faint!"
We stayed at Park House Cottage for 7 days and it was indeed perfect. The beds were comfortable, the sofa nice and squashy, the kitchen stocked with everything you could possibly need to cook a meal, the garden lovely, and the owner's kitty friendly. The spiral staircase seemed more daunting than it actually was -- my husband and tall teenager managed it without difficulty. We would have stayed longer if we could have, and hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much - it was a pleasure to meet you all and Jenny & I hope to see you again one day...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baggagepo...
Englanders in New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

It has all been written before- but wanted to put 'Pen to Paper' to endorse the comments of previous guests!
We have spent several weeks at the cottage- a home from home!
Our hosts Jenny and Nick have been very warm and welcomed us with open arms - thank you!
Superb linen changes and weekly cleaning done by a brilliant and smiling Julie have all contributed to the perfect stay!
The cottage is located very centrally, and one does not need to think too much about supper!
Excellent fish and chips, chinese, and a curry not to mention numerous pubs of varying standards for a steak pie and chips are all within 2/3 minutes walk!!!! What more could one ask for!!!!
On the dark evenings the log wood burner makes a warm central focus in the living area where the extremely comfortable cushioned sofa temptingly beckons!
We would very much like to return, and with no hesitation will be recommending Park Cottage to our friends. Thank you again Jenny and Nick for the perfect retreat!!!!.........X. Must not forget the wonderfully friendly black cat with a red collar- who has been well trained and instructed not to enter the cottage under any circumstances !!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thank you John and Annie for a lovely review - you have also been the perfect guests, always fun, smiling and good company on these cold winter days. Please come back any time you wish.....!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet D
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This cozy cottage and gorgeous garden was a dream come true.”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to the Cotswolds with our daughter and son-in-law in early December and were delighted with the hospitality and accommodations at the Park House Cottage. It was so conveniently located to wonderful restaurants (the Indian restaurant a few doors up the street was fabulous, as well as the many pubs nearby); the street parking was quite convenient; and cottage itself was just what we had hoped for. The kitchen was well equipped, the wood-burning stove was delightful on the cool winter evenings, and the beds and baths were modern, comfortable, and nicely decorated. Stow-on-the-Wold proved to be a great launching site for day trips to Oxford, Blenheim Palace, Stonehenge, and a few of the nearby villages. On days or evenings we stayed closer to home, it's a lovely, friendly town with great pubs, shops, and one of the nicest antiquarian bookdealers I've met anywhere.

All four of us would recommend a stay with Nick and Jenny. They were helpful and took pains to see that the cottage had everything we needed from start to finish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The slanted ceilings, arched doorways, wood-burning stove, and the view of the garden.
Liked least: We were grateful that there was an outside stairway to the second floor for carrying luggage because the interior spiral staircase was a bit intimidating at first.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for the kind words Janet - it was great to meet you all and hopefully, we may meet you again one day... Best regards, Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullymoti...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I am a fussy person and I tend not to just stay anywhere. I researched the Cotswolds and a holiday rental for about 6months! I stumbled across Park House Cottage and was not disappointed. I have decided to write this review as I know how helpful they can be.
The cottage is a brilliant setup for a self catering holiday rental. Its also a great location. Private and quiet, but right on the high street and by the town square.
Nick & Jenny were very welcoming and helpful. They were there if we needed them but never interfered during our stay. They think of all the little things to settle a guest & make it feel like 'home' - we had a welcome food pack, even had a Christmas tree. Great furnishings throughout and a fantastic fire which I had alight constantly - even a huge basket of logs were provided for us.
I have read the other reviews that moan about the spiral staircase - this is a great quirky feature. If you want practical then go stay in a hotel. The staircase adds a bit of character to the cottage. I managed to carry my 18month old son up the stairs easy enough. I personally loved it, especially after a bottle (or two) of wine!
Stow is a short drive to other market towns and villages. I honestly don't see any reason why you would want to stay anywhere else. Well done Nick & Jenny keep up the good work!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for the kind words - you were not only the perfect guests but also left the cottage spotlessly clean. We hope to meet you again one day......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing