We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless accommodation with personal touches”

Review of Oak House

Oak House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oak House
Living room Dining room with french doors to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Oak House
Living room
Dining room with french doors to garden
A sunny spot
Feet up in front of TV and wood burning stove!
Lovely view over garden
French doors open onto sunny patio
View from garden
The River Dikler winds it;s way through the village
A warm welcome
Kitchen
Plenty of cupboard space
Light and airy aspect
View from front door
Double bedroom
Dressing area
Twin bedroom
View from bedrooms
View of the village
Lavender Fields at Snowshill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
503838Viv...
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless accommodation with personal touches”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We recently stayed in Kilderkin Cottage in Langton Matravers for a five-day holiday - a pretty Purbeck stone house tucked in a quiet lane in an equally attractive, quiet village located close to the many local Dorset amenities. The accommodation was faultless and furnished impeccably by the owners. In each of the rooms attention had been paid to comfort as well as detail and personal touches were evident in all the rooms. We would certainly recommend Kilderkin Cottage to others and we would certainly like to return.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
This review has been left on the wrong property. We have contacted Tripadvisor regarding this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rte_trave...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Oak House is a wonderful, modern cottage with all the amenities you could ask for. Everything is provided, from the practical (shampoos, soaps, coffee/tea, etc) to the personal (a welcome card from the owners, flowers, and cake).

We traveled with a six year-old, and the house offered plenty to keep him busy: a large garden in the back to play football, badminton, or croquet (sets provided) and inside a whole collection of books, toys, DVDs, and Playstation games. The garden is wonderful - a perfect, quiet spot to enjoy views over the countryside. The horses in the field behind the house made for wonderful neighbours.

Speaking of neighbours, the owners live right next door and are very welcoming and friendly, and pleased to help with any information about the area or attractions to visit.

Wonderful hosts, wonderful house, wonderful location! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. It is good to see children making the most of the outdoor space. Our central position makes it easy to explore a wide area and we are glad that you seemed to find plenty to do in the two weeks you were with us. We would love to see you again on your next visit to the UK. Robert & Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pea30
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage really stood up to the description. Good location, very convenient for Stow on the Wold and very peaceful.
It was very clean with all the extras . Also what was really good was that you didn't have to worry about washing up liquid/kitchen towel clingilm/shanpoo/showergel etc as it was all provided.
I think this illustrates the generosity of the owners - who were very friendly and helpful but not intrusive, would definitely book this one again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We do try to provide guests with everything we think they will need to make their stay relaxing from the time they arrive, and it was good to hear your feedback on this.
We would love to see you again on your next trip to the Cotswolds.
Regards
Robert and Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline F
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect break”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Very well appointed, lovely touches, spotlessly clean, central location PLUS a beautiful view from all rooms and back garden - all we could ask for from a holiday home. We spent a very peaceful week here, touring, walking and eating! With very professional information packs, we can highly recommend this property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We do try to go that extra mile to make your stay memorable and this has hopefully contributed to the enjoyment of your holiday.
Best wishes
Robert & Cheryl Millar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia...
Salford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful stay in a perfect location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage was tastefully decorated and everything there was made to make us feel comfortable. From the cleanliness to the coziness and the amazing view from the french windows, we were delighted. Cheryl and Robert were the most perfect hosts, helpful and welcoming.
The cottage is also ideally located to visit the Cotswolds as most of the places to visit are less than 30 mins drive away. The surrounding countryside is stunning and the little villages are lovely and picturesque.

We had a wonderful family time and would be very happy to stay again at Oak House. Thank you!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and really appreciate the comments you made in your review. We would love to see you again if and when you return to the Cotswolds.
Best wishes
Robert & Cheryl Millar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing