We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable if not outstanding dinner - small portions”

Wyck Hill House Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ate here on Saturday night during peak summer season as a non resident. Was surprised to find only 5 tables occupied. Mixed feelings about our meal. If it hadn't been for our very friendly young waiter I may have only given 3 stars.

Impressive looking hotel with driveway entrance and expansive grounds. Restaurant is a smart set up in the conservatory with white linen tablecloths and napkins. Set price menu - £27.50 2 courses / £35 3 courses with a few choices with supplements.

Food was well cooked and reasonably tasty although could have done with more seasoning. Portions, however, were small and you might still be hungry if you have a big appetite.

No bread basket provided so ordered focacia with olive oil and basalmic which was an extra £3.50 and just two slices. Also took ages to arrive - some time after our starter was delivered.

Two courses, two sides plus cappucinos and bottle of wine for two totalled £90, before tip and overall it was fine but not especially memorable.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Jasmine38Chichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2021

The bar staff was very good and helped the best he could. There is seating inside also outside on a patio area.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Swanseaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2021

We stayed at this hotel a few days and ate all of our dinners and breakfast in there restaurant. The food was very good very tasty and plenty of choice, the service was excellent the staff was very professional and helpful also the breakfast was excellent plenty of choice and very tasty perfect start to the day. Would recommend eating here.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E2352BPhelenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2020

The hotel boasts an AA 2 Rosette Award restaurant. We were seated in the conservatory right next to the heaters - so tick one there already! Our package included a 3-course meal and breakfast.
• Starters we both had Pan Fried Scallops with parsley root puree and citreous vinaigrette.
• Mains hubby had Ruby Red Devon Beef Fillet with pomme anna potato, tenderstem and Cep sauce. I had their Pan Fried Seabass with colcannon mash and langoustine bisque.
• Desserts we shared was a Sticky Toffee Pudding with caramel sauce and a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a selection of 5 British Cheeses.
The food is really good, servers are friendly, but at times were difficult to understand when asking a question or providing menu options.

Breakfast is served in the same rooms as dinner, Staff tried to keep us within the main room, but we headed back to the conservatory which was nice and bright. A different table from dinner. There is a good selection for the continental part of breakfast. You can also order Full Traditional English cooked breakfast or salmon/haddock cooked breakfast.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CelestePienaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2019

My husband had booked a night away for my birthday & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a spacious room with views over the gardens. After a delicious cream tea we then went to the Spa & had a relaxing massage followed by time spent in the sauna & steam room.
The 3 course evening meal in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of staff who were all very pleasant. There was a wide choice for each course which was all very tasty.
Breakfast was equally as good. Service again was excellent.
We had a lovely stay & look forward to returning.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 511Kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Wyck Hill House Bar also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to Wyck Hill House Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.