We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
129
85
55
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
85
55
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshyde barnirish ladyfamily weddingbuffet styleminute drivelarge roomshort breakfood was lovelyfamily roomducktea and coffeefossecotswoldsstow
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Our friends recently got married in Hyde Barn and it was such a beautiful wedding venue. The food was lovely and tasty and there was lots of it. We had duck, guinea fowl and chocolate pudding. We were sat on a table of ten and the food came out hot and we were all served at the same time. The views of the hills were amazing! The weather helped but the patio was a gorgeous place to sit and have drinks.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Doughty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Fabulous venue for a friend's wedding June 2017. The rooms were very comfortable and the wedding reception venue lovely particularly the gardens. Would just recommend consideration be given to having fans in the room when we were there it was a roasting weekend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve_jersey_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Cannot fault this place.
Our wedding day and the lead up to it that the staff involved themselves with perfect.
Friendly, reliable, efficient was happy with everything.

Made our day perfect and one to remember to us and to all our family and friends.
Wedding venue was perfect and also the hotel stay was wonderful- cannot recommend this hotel and venue enough.

Thank you to all at Hyde barn and fosse hotel

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katey_xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were married here in july of this year in the attached Hyde barn and stayed in the house as part of the package. The day was perfect and we couldn't have hoped for more. The team catered for every need we had from extra broccoli for a young vegetarian guest of ours to recommendations of the perfect suppliers to highlight each section of our wedding. The staff here were wonderful and helped organise and direct the day to ensure everything went smoothly with some going way above there job role.

The food was superb and the room dressing was perfect for our expectations. The stay in the house was comfortable and relaxing. We had a great nights sleep! The amenities were great and it was so lovely to have breakfast with everyone in the morning (loved the fry up and cereals). The value for money was great and i couldn't't find anywhere that offered a true countryside barn wedding bith elegance like the Hyde team did. Thankyou!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We stayed at Hyde Barn/Fosse Manor hotel for a friend's wedding and feel very conflicted about our experience here. On a positive note, the wedding venue is beautiful and the staff (including all waiting and cleaning staff) at the Barn were faultless in their efforts to serve everyone and were smiley, unobtrusive and professional. The food at the wedding and at breakfast was all very nice, we had a great time at the wedding itself. Where this venue comes unstuck is at the hotel end. The front of house leaves a lot to be desired. It is not even immediately obvious where the reception is - for reference, there is a small table in front of a door but no signage, to get attention you need to walk around that table and actually into the private office to coax some one out. As part of my daily job I liaise with hotels of all sizes on a global scale and I have never encountered such inflexibility. A 3pm check in time is absolutely ludicrous for a location where the majority of the guests will be attending a wedding which - as per their wedding package - starts at 2pm. Many people staying here will have travelled a distance to attend a wedding and won't want (as we hadn't) to sit in a car in their full wedding gear. It is absolutely not unreasonable to expect that our room should be ready by midday at least (as most hotel rooms are) so that we could shower and get changed. The hotel offered a small, hot, 'changing room' which saw a queue of people waiting closer and closer to the ceremony time to get ready. There are 22 rooms at this hotel, with a compulsory non-extendable check out time of 10am it should be totally possible to clean them all in time for lunch time check in. As it was, half way through the drinks reception at the wedding, a number of guests had to leave to check their bags into their rooms. All of this would have been distinctly more bearable if the front of house was looked after by someone keen to actually look after their guests. I am not entirely sure the lady in question is aware that she is employed in customer service at all. I have rarely met anyone in the hotel industry who is so passive-aggressive. I do not entirely subscribe to the mantra that the customer is always right, however I also do not appreciate being spoken to like an infant, with a degree of incredulity that we would like to check in through pursed lips and a barely concealed rage that we would even ask - a fellow guest who contested this late check in time was told that the hotel 'expects guests to have changed and showered before they arrive for a wedding'. Extraordinary. The rooms themselves are fine, extremely neutral, large comfy beds, clean (which they should be given the amount of time they have to clean them). They are however quite punchy price-wise for what you get. Our room had some french windows which would not open as one of the bolts was broken, I would have mentioned this on check out if our hostile friend at reception hadn't been hiding in her office at critical check out time with no one else in evidence and then almost sprinting away from customers as soon as keys were handed over. If a beautiful location such as this insists on giving sole responsibility for all front of house matters to someone, it might be worth checking if that person has any people skills at all. For future guests, it is tempting to recommend this hotel as an extension of a wedding package for convenience however I suspect that any of the lovely-looking hotels less than 2 mins walk away would start the day off in a cheerier fashion. If you do stay here, make sure you shower and change first apparently!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JoJoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews