We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay.....”

Review of Barncastle

Gorgeous Views of the Painswick Valley from the Barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous Views of the Painswick Valley from the Barn.
Stunning View of the Barn as you enter the driveway. First floor lounge room with wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Gorgeous Views of the Painswick Valley from the Barn.
Stunning View of the Barn as you enter the driveway.
First floor lounge room with wood burner
Dining room with patio doors leading to garden
Bedroom with en-suite
View of the garden
Front view of Barncastle
Downstairs bathroom
Front view of Barncastle
Garden view
View across the fields to Pitchcombe church
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Painswick, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tonipante...
Stourbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect place to stay.....”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We've recently had a fabulous mid week family stay at Barncastle for a birthday celebration. What can I say that hasn't already been said in the previous reviews. It's just a wonderful place for a 'get together'. The 'castle' is beautifully renovated and decorated throughout. The bedrooms are really lovely, with more than enough bathrooms/shower rooms to cope with larger numbers of residents. The kitchen is a wonderful focal point for everyone to sit around the table for an informal 'breakfast/meal' gathering. If you want more formality, the dining room, with it's very large dining table is just right for the job. Why not hire a chef for the evening, like we did. It was so enjoyable. There is more than everything you need at Barncastle, right down to books, dvd's, cd's, children's games and indeed lots for the adults as well. Val has thought of everything and spared nothing, including some lovely personal touches like a yummy cake on arrival, fresh flowers, wine and a complimentary supply of other basic needs. Just bring your suitcase, that's all you'll need.
We also stayed at Barn Cottage, just across the driveway, earlier in the year. This is a smaller property, sleeps 4 but is just as lovely and is another place well worth a visit. So cosy and all the same amenities but just on a smaller scale. If you need a 'bigger property' for an event, why not hire both of them.
I would totally recommend both properties, you won't be disappointed at all.
I cannot wait to return again sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural atmospere, views from the property and overall interior ambience
Liked least: Having to leave
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle W
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hidden gem within the tranquility of the Cotswolds countryside”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a fabulous weekend at Barncastle. It felt so homely especially with homemade cake, crisps and milk on arrival. The views were outstanding, we just couldn't stop looking at them! It was perfect for a group to go away and will comfortably sleep 10. It had 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms so no one was ever waiting to use the facilities. It had an abundance of CDs, DVDs and books to choose from. The kitchen was also incredibly well equipped, it even had cocktail shakers! Painswick was the nearest little village which was very quaint. We had an amazing lunch at The Falcon Inn which I couldn't recommend highly enough. We will definitely be visiting Barncastle again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel and location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wren2013
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation and wonderful location.”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We used this accommodation as a base for our daughter to get ready and set off from,on her wedding day, surrounded by family and close friends.There was plenty of space and the number of bathrooms meant no problems getting showered in the morning! The accommodation was amazing , well equipped and furnished .We were able to chill out the following day over a leisurely lunch in the garden enjoying the views.
We booked both properties for family and friends and would love to return and explore the area more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and roominess of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Barncastle is everything and more than you could wish for in a holiday let .
The decor is beautiful with no expense spared. It has a sense of grandeur but with a warm homely and relaxing feel. The kitchen is fabulous and the bedrooms are dreamy, one of the en suits has a lovely slipper bath. Val the owner makes you feel very welcome with extra little touches like wine,cake flowers milk etc awaiting your arrival . Just what the doctor ordered as you sink into the beautiful oversized couches in the lounge to start your holiday. There is also a great selection of CD's DVD's books and games. Beautiful gardens, outdoor furniture and BBQ with breath taking views over the valley. Painswick village is very quaint and the food in the local Falcon Pub Is very good and well worth a visit.. This is our second visit to Barncastle this year and I know we'll be back, we seem to have fallen in love with it and the Cotswolds. I can highly recommend a holiday in Barncastle you won't be disappointed ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ultimate quality of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 419
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing