We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, Excellent atmosphere ”
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Painswick
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 15
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 16 November 2018 via mobile

Recently went here for an evening meal with my partner, with both expecting pub grub but got much more ham we bargained for. The food was excellent we both had the fresh mince beef burgers which were garnished with coleslaw and chips. The crispy huge onion rings were delicious not like frozen McCain ones. The man that served us was helpful and friendly. There also wasn’t a long wait for our food which was also bonus! Will definitely be returning when in Painswick next.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank CallumMcg94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2018 via mobile

The food exceeded our expectations, both my partner and I had the beef burgers, which we thought would be just standard pub grub. however the quality of the beef was superb and generous portions. The lad who served us was friendly and could not do enough.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Rhiannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Went for some drinks with some friends as a group of five, we happened to go when the annual halloween party. The locals were very welcoming and friendly as well as the setting and ambience of the pub being lovely.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

very friendly welcoming pub with good beer and the food is excellent. the service was excellent will definetly be returning.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Stayed in Painswick on our Cotswold Way walk. The Royal Oak is a "locals" pub. It was busy, lots of friendly people, the food was very good. Reasonably priced and good food. The staff are very nice, helpful We enjoyed our drinks and meal here - can be busy....

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

Painswick, Stroud District
Painswick, Stroud District
 
Painswick, Stroud District
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing