We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait and flat beer!”
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Painswick
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 15
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We were staying in a B&B in Painswick and thought we would try a local pub for some food. It started badly when I ordered a pint of cask ale an asked for a head on it. It could not have been any flatter and I left half of it.
Inside the tables and chairs were quite limited and outside the furniture was more aimed at drinkers than diners being chunky benches.
We ordered fish and chips and a risotto and had quite a long wait considering they were not very busy.
The fish and chips was average but the risotto was actually very good. The one thing that stopped me giving a rating of one!
Go to the Bistro just round the corner!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Just called in for a sandwich - £7 for a gorgeous butty, a salad with dressing and French fries. Was enough for 2 of us.

Gorgeous little pub with a rear patio area. Been modernised somewhat to make it more contemporary.

Good, varied menu with very reasonable prices.

Will definitely visit for dinner.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank ChairmanBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We chose the pub because they had the match on (England) and the food looked good. The match turned out poor but the food lived up to expectations. To make it all the better the atmosphere was fantastic and you were really made welcome by the locals.
Despite moving to another village the following day we couldn't resist popping back to Pauinswirkc for lunch at this great pub and the ploughman's we shared was tasty, fresh and great value. In short - a lovely pub run by people who know how to host. Top marks!!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank ichameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in got a pint. Nice local pub with a decent good menu. Mot many other options in town. Nice low ceilings and stonework.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank musictrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

It was a lovely day and we had a drink, sandwich and soup in the back courtyard along with our Airedale Terrier. We were all three welcomed like long lost friends and the service was terrific. The sandwiches - home cooked ham, cheese and wholegrain mustard and a round of scrumptious smoked salmon with herby cream cheese - were freshly made and delicious. The soup - pea and broccoli with a hint of mint - was just terrific and serve in large mugs! - and it was all very reasonably priced!!
The staff could have been friendlier or more helpful. It would be a great place to pitch up on a cold winter day! Enjoyed totally and recommend highly!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidwB6194TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

Painswick, Stroud District
Painswick, Stroud District
 
Painswick, Stroud District
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing