We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
106
48
28
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
106
48
28
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub friendly professional staff sticky toffee pudding excellent food ate here without being intrusive welcome pack feel very welcome both nights couple of nights an evening meal beautiful cotswolds comfortable room short break following morning a wonderful stay one night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Found room (No 6) too small. There were cobwebs on wooden ceiling beams, Outside door needed kicking to open, shower was full of mould and only tricked water , hence not fit for purpose. The windows clearly had not been cleaned for a while.
On the plus side, they tried. to rectify everything but failed to fix shower. I fail to understand why after being shut for months that the rooms were not perfect.
The service however and food were very good, although there was only a limited menu. Location is good for the attractions around the area.

Room tip: Not number 6.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021

We visited The Horse & Groom during a stay in nearby Stow on the Wold with family (5 min drive). It was my husband's birthday and we were limited on choice due to Covid restrictions, however we were so pleased with our choice. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the choice, quality and flavour of the food was fantastic - 2 x bbq belly of pork and a Halloumi Cesar Salad - all delish. We wanted to stay for pudding as the selection looked good but sadly it was just a wee bit windy - although we were offered blankets which we all thought was a lovely touch. Will come again when next in the area.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Staycation-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

We visited for a late lunch and got a bench at the garden; it was windy and cold even on a sunny day. The food was below average, too plain and too spiced but lacking in flavour. Too bad; as staff was quite nice and polite but clearly this is Uber basic pub food at best.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ckslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horse & Groom Upper Oddington, General Manager at The Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

We are so sorry you had such a miserable experience. As you know, we are limited to outdoor only operations at this time and have absolutely no control over the weather. Most sensible people prepare for outdoor dining by wearing or bringing appropriate clothes with them. We also have cosy blankets available and if you had told us you were cold we would have provided you with a fresh, warm blanket to keep you toasty. We are sorry that the food or menu was not to your taste. Our home-smoked brisket is one of the most popular dishes on our menu, with many diners returning time after time to this dish. However, if you had told us that it was not what you were expecting or to your taste, we would have absolutely done everything we can to make it right for you. We genuinely welcome feedback on our menu and on our dishes, and if raised with us whilst you are here we can do something to make your experience better. We certainly don't consider our menu as 'uber basic pub grub' as you put it which is a bit insulting! Anyone who takes a look at our menu oniine will see that our menu is far from usual pub grub. we try hard (even when limited by post-lockdown restrictions as we are now) to keep a varied seasonal menu to cover a wide range of tastes. You were clearly expecting something different though which had you spoken with us during your visit we would have been keen to understand. I hope you return at some point in the future and that we are better able to meet your expectations and that (if we are still restricted to outdoor dining only) you bring something warmer to wear. Thanks for the time you have taken posting your reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

We booked for a few nights as they are in a good location and dog friendly. And it turned out that they are very dog friendly. We has a comfortable room in the cottage and the dog was provided with bed and bowls and even given a gift bag to make her feel welcome. The pub is very pretty and welcoming - so perfect for a nearly Christmas stay. Although the menu was limited it was really excellent and we ended up eating in the pub four out of our five nights. And considering we are in the middle of a pandemic I think the menu was very good. Pie night was great too, as was breakfast. The location is lovely as the village is very small, very tranquil and wonderfully dark at night. No roaring cars or street lights, wonderful. Very welcoming hosts and the staff were great. I do hope this place survives these difficult times as they certainly deserve to. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phoebe827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020

We stayed here for two nights and the hotel was so clean and welcoming.The staff ( especially Max ) where really accommodating with good walks we could do. The food was to die for.keep up the good work

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 737christiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews